Vegan Gluten-Free Pizza

Choose Frozen Convenience or Make Your Own

If you love pizza but you're following a gluten-free vegan diet, don't despair: you actually have multiple options.

Four manufacturers now make a wide variety of frozen gluten-free vegan pizzas, offering maximum convenience with lots of variety. You also can make your own vegan gluten-free crust using gluten-free pizza crust mix, and then top it with your choice of vegetables.

Feeling more adventurous? Try making your own vegan gluten-free pizza from scratch, using roasted vegetables or soy "cheeze" products from the store. Just make sure any cheese substitute you use also is gluten-free (most are, but always check the ingredients).

Here's what's available in vegan gluten-free pizza:


Amy's Kitchen Vegan Pesto Gluten-Free Pizza

amy's gluten-free vegan pizza

Amy's Kitchen

Amy's Kitchen makes a variety of gluten-free pizzas, including four that are both gluten-free and vegan.

The company's pesto pizza includes mozzarella- and ricotta-style soy "cheeze," along with a rice crust based on organic sweet rice flour, organic potatoes, and organic tapioca. It's topped with house-made pesto, sun-ripened tomatoes, and broccoli florets.

Amy's spinach pizza includes the same rice-based crust, topped with organic spinach and dairy-free, soy-based mozzarella and ricotta "cheeze," plus Italian pizza sauce.

Finally, Amy's makes a single-serve roasted vegetable gluten-free vegan pizza and a single-serve plain "cheeze" gluten-free pizza. The roasted vegetable pizza features marinated organic shiitake mushrooms, roasted red peppers, sweet onions, and artichoke hearts on top of a rice crust with organic olive oil and crushed tomatoes.

The company tests its products to make sure they contain less than 20 parts per million (ppm) of gluten.


BOLD Organics Vegan Pizzas

Bold Organics vegan cheese pizza

BOLD Organics

BOLD Organics makes two vegan and gluten-free frozen pizzas: a "cheese" pizza and a veggie lovers' pizza with organic roasted red peppers, yellow onions and shitake mushrooms.

Both pizzas use mozzarella cheese alternative, which is a tofu-based product. Just be sure not to pick up one of their other gluten-free pizzas, which are topped with meat, or one of their gluten-containing pizzas—BOLD Organic's regular pizzas are often displayed in the freezer case right next to the gluten-free options.

The company is certified gluten-free by the Celiac Sprue Association (CSA), which requires testing to below 5 parts per million. It's also certified organic and verified non-GMO.


Daiya Gluten-Free Vegan Pizza

daiya gluten-free vegan pizza


Daiya offers seven different varieties of gluten-free vegan frozen pizzas: classic, meatless deli style, supreme, cheeze lover's, margherita, fire-roasted vegetable, and mushroom and roasted garlic.

Founded in 2009, Daiya specializes in gluten-free, allergen-free foods. All of its products are free of seven major allergens, including: wheat/gluten, milk/dairy, soy, eggs, peanuts, fish, and shellfish. In addition, all Daiya products are certified vegan, and the manufacturer's gluten-free vegan pizza is no exception. 

The pizzas include "crispy"-style gluten-free crust made from tapioca starch, rice flour, potato starch, chickpea flour, milled flaxseed, rice starch, olive oil, cane sugar, yeast, sea salt, psyllium, chicory root extract, xanthan gum, locust bean gum. They feature a tomato sauce plus Daiya's signature "cheeze" blend. 

Daiya products meet gluten-free standards calling for less than 20 parts per million of gluten.


Whole Foods 365 Vegan Gluten-Free Frozen Pizza

365 Roasted vegetable pizza

Whole Foods Inc.

Giant health supermarket chain Whole Foods produces a vegan gluten-free frozen pizza as part of its 365 house brand. The pizza does not use faux cheese—instead, it's topped with roasted vegetables.

Whole Foods bills its vegan gluten-free frozen pizza as having "no gluten ingredients" rather than "gluten-free" because it's not tested for gluten cross-contamination and it's produced in a facility that also makes gluten-based products. However, the company reports it uses "good manufacturing procedures" to prevent cross-contamination.


Vegan Gluten-Free Pizza Crust Mixes

Copyright © Namaste Foods LLC. Copyright © Namaste Foods LLC

If you want to make your own vegan gluten-free pizza, you can experiment with gluten-free pizza crust mixes. Several of these mixes include no animal ingredients. Most do call for adding eggs and/or milk, but you should be able to make them with egg and milk substitutes.

Namaste's Gluten-Free Pizza Crust Mix can be made vegan according to the directions—the product includes brown rice, tapioca, arrowroot and spices, and calls for adding only oil and water.


A Word from Verywell

Following a gluten-free vegetarian or vegan diet can be quite restrictive, since the gluten-free portion of the diet places many traditional vegetarian and vegan foods off-limits (you'll need to strictly avoid the seitan, for example). 

However, as more people adopt these dietary changes, companies are stepping up to make convenience foods to help, such as these gluten-free vegan frozen pizzas.

Verywell Fit uses only high-quality sources, including peer-reviewed studies, to support the facts within our articles. Read our editorial process to learn more about how we fact-check and keep our content accurate, reliable, and trustworthy.

By Jane Anderson
Jane Anderson is a medical journalist and an expert in celiac disease, gluten sensitivity, and the gluten-free diet.