Is Sushi Gluten-Free? What Sushi Can You Eat When You're Gluten-Free?


Verywell / Alexandra Shytsman

Not all sushi is gluten-free. Sushi that contains surimi (fake crab meat), tempura, or anything made with soy sauce or a marinade is not safe on the gluten-free diet. It's also possible for wasabi and for the vinegar used to make the sushi rice to contain gluten. Fortunately, you can avoid those pitfalls and order a safe gluten-free sushi meal. Here's where you can find hidden gluten in sushi... and how to avoid it.

Must-Know Facts About Sushi and Gluten

If you have celiac disease or non-celiac gluten sensitivity, you need to make sure any sushi you order is safe. Sushi can represent a real go-to meal out that's perfectly safe... provided you know how to order gluten-free sushi.

You may think sushi is made up of just fish, rice, and vegetables, which all are gluten-free. But there are lots of places gluten can creep into your sushi. Regular soy sauce, for example, contains wheat, and surimi frequently is made from wheat starch.

It's not difficult to work with a sushi restaurant and chef to avoid gluten-based ingredients, but you have to know which specific ingredients to avoid.

Sushi that Contains Gluten

California rolls—especially those that come from supermarkets or less expensive "fast food" sushi-type outlets—almost always contain surimi or fake crab instead of real crab. This imitation crab made by grinding white fish and then binding it with starch and other ingredients and then flavoring so that it resembles real crab meat.

Unfortunately, the "starch and other ingredients" used to make surimi almost always contain wheat, placing most California rolls (and any other sushi rolls that include surimi) on the "avoid" list for those of us who are gluten-free unless you know for certain that they're made with gluten-free ingredients.

Note that many sushi restaurants do not know surimi contains wheat, so you'll need to double-check all ingredients in a multi-ingredient roll. Don't take a chance on surimi unless you know for sure the sushi restaurant is experienced in providing gluten-free sushi.

In addition to surimi, you also need to beware of tempura sushi—sushi rolls that include tempura-dipped vegetables and meats. Tempura batter almost always is made with wheat flour. Fortunately, tempura-based sushi roll ingredients are pretty easy to identify and avoid, since they look coated and fried. Some gluten-free-friendly restaurants use a gluten-free batter to make their tempura—these should be prominently labeled "gluten-free."

Why Sushi with Marinated Ingredients Isn't Gluten-Free

Some sushi rolls include marinated fish: most commonly unagi (freshwater eel) but also salmon and tuna. Virtually all of these marinades contain soy sauce or teriyaki sauce (which, in turn, has soy sauce as an ingredient).

Most soy sauce contains wheat and is not gluten-free. Therefore, you'll need to steer clear of any sushi prepared with a marinade or sauce unless you know for certain it was prepared with gluten-free soy sauce.

You'll also need to watch out for wasabi, the eye-watering green paste that adds a major kick to your sushi. Many sushi restaurants (especially in the United States) don't use real wasabi; instead, they use a mixture of horseradish, mustard and other ingredients (including green food coloring). Occasionally, these other ingredients can include wheat starch. This is not a common problem, but it does crop up.

To guard against this, you should ask the restaurant to let you review the ingredients of the wasabi in use... or better yet, bring a small container of your own, 100% real wasabi. You can purchase real powdered wasabi root at Asian grocery stores, or order it online; Sushi Sonic and Pacific Farms are two manufacturers.

Is Sushi with Rice Vinegar Gluten-Free?

If you react to gluten grain-derived vinegars (as some people do), be aware that the rice used to make sushi almost always is seasoned with sushi vinegar. This vinegar most often is distilled from rice, but it occasionally can include distilled gluten grains.

If vinegar is a problem for you, consider asking the chef to make your sushi with plain rice from the kitchen. Even though regular rice doesn't roll as neatly, most sushi chefs will oblige.

A Word from Verywell

From a gluten cross-contamination standpoint, sushi restaurants actually are quite safe—you can sit there at the sushi bar and watch the chef prepare your food, and unless the restaurant makes tons of tempura sushi, the sushi preparation area usually is gluten-free, except for the soy sauce.

When dining out at a sushi restaurant, ask the server to let the sushi chef know you're extremely allergic to soy sauce, and so to avoid contact with any sauces or marinades that might contain soy sauce when making my order.

Also, consider ordering sashimi instead of sushi (always ask if there's anything that's been in a marinade on a sashimi platter), and bring your own gluten-free soy sauce and wasabi. Many gluten-free-friendly Japanese restaurants now are stocking gluten-free soy sauce for their customers.

Even though there are numerous places that gluten can sneak into a sushi dinner, it's actually pretty simple to get a safe gluten-free meal at a sushi restaurant. It's more difficult to get safe sushi at a supermarket sushi bar, but note that Wegmans supermarkets have made all their sushi gluten-free.

Was this page helpful?
Article Sources
Verywell Fit uses only high-quality sources, including peer-reviewed studies, to support the facts within our articles. Read our editorial process to learn more about how we fact-check and keep our content accurate, reliable, and trustworthy.
  1. Gluten-Free Foods. Celiac Disease Foundation.

  2. Sources of Gluten. Celiac Disease Foundation.

  3. Dining and Social Eating. Celiac Disease Foundation.

  4. Gluten and Food Labeling. U.S. Food and Drug Administration. Updated July 16, 2018.