Gluten-Free Yogurt List

bowl of yogurt and fruit

Verywell / Alexandra Shytsman 

Plain yogurt is made with milk that's been fermented with gut-friendly bacteria until it thickens and develops a tangy taste. Yogurt is also an excellent source of calcium and protein. Assuming you're not also steering clear of milk products due to lactose intolerance or another issue, you can enjoy many types of yogurt on the gluten-free diet.

Is Yogurt Gluten-Free?

In its pure form, yogurt is gluten-free. But the flavorings and sweeteners used in commercially available yogurt aren't always gluten-free. And even plain yogurt you buy in stores can be subject to gluten cross-contamination that makes it unsafe for people with celiac disease and non-celiac gluten sensitivity. So you'll need to use caution when buying yogurt.

According to the Celiac Disease Foundation, the best place to start when determining if a food is gluten-free is to look at its label for the words "gluten-free." Next, look at the ingredients to be sure no gluten-containing ingredient is listed.

Popular Yogurt Brands

Here's the list of yogurt brands that are commonly available in the U.S., plus what each manufacturer has to say about whether their yogurt is gluten-free or not.

Cabot Yogurt

If your supermarket stocks Cabot yogurt, it's highly recommended, even if you're particularly sensitive to trace gluten. The Vermont-based company (known for its sharp cheddar cheese) produces Greek-style yogurt in seven different flavors and fat levels, including plain, low-fat, non-fat, strawberry and vanilla bean.

The company states that "all of Cabot's products are gluten-free. Any and all ingredients, anti-caking agents, etc. are researched and verified to be gluten-free."

Chobani Yogurt

Chobani offers plain thick Greek yogurt, plus a variety of different flavors ranging from the basics (strawberry and vanilla) to more interesting varieties (Blood Orange and Vanilla Chocolate Chunk). According to the company:

"Chobani Greek Yogurt varieties, with the exception of Chobani 'Flip' products, are naturally gluten-free. This means they contain no wheat, rye, barley or other gluten-containing ingredients. All of our products containing no gluten are marked with the gluten-free symbol as certified by the Gluten-Free Certification Organization" (GFCO). 

The GFCO requires products to meet the legal standard of fewer than 20 parts per million of gluten. Note that Chobani uses certified gluten-free oats to make its Chobani Oats and Ancient Grain products, which makes them safe on the gluten-free diet (as long as you can eat oats).

Dannon Yogurt

Dannon offers a huge variety of flavors and styles of yogurt, and the vast majority of them are considered gluten-free. The exceptions include Activia Fiber (contains gluten ingredients), Dannon Parfait (which is sold only in cafeterias, not in grocery stores), Oikos Low Fat Greek Frozen Yogurt, Oikos Crunch, LNF Greek Crunch, and YoCrunch.

Fage Yogurt

Greek yogurt maker Fage offers split cups with fruit or a honey-based topping on one side and yogurt on the other. All flavors are considered gluten-free and are certified by the Gluten-Free Certification Organization, according to the company.

Stonyfield Farm Yogurt

Stonyfield Farms makes yogurt and smoothies, plus Oikos organic Greek yogurt. It also makes YoBaby yogurt products and soy yogurt for those who avoid dairy along with gluten. All Stonyfield yogurts with the exception of YoToddler Plus Fruit & Cereal are certified gluten-free by the GFCO, which means they contain fewer than 10 parts per million of gluten.

The company also makes frozen yogurt products. These don't contain gluten ingredients but are produced on equipment shared with gluten-containing products, so Stonyfield doesn't consider them to be gluten-free.

Voskos Yogurt

Voskos, another brand of Greek-style thick yogurt, says its yogurt is gluten-free. (The company has discontinued its Voskos Plus Granola flavors, which contained rolled wheat.)

Yoplait Yogurt

Yoplait, part of General Mills, features an extensive gluten-free list. A spokesperson said the gluten-free list includes most—but not all—Yoplait products. Notably, the gluten-free parfaits with granola are not gluten-free (they contain regular oats and barley malt).

Yoplait products are tested to 20 parts per million. GoGurt and Trix yogurt both are Yoplait products, and there are many flavors of both on the gluten-free list.

A Word From Verywell

In addition to these national brands, most grocery stores also carry their own private-label brands. To determine if these are considered safe or not on the gluten-free diet, you'll need to ask the store—many offer gluten-free lists of products.

Just as with regular yogurt, many brands and flavors of frozen yogurt are safe. However, some are not. This gluten-free ice cream article provides some details on frozen yogurt you can purchase in stores.

Finally, if you enjoy going out for frozen yogurt, there are also gluten-free frozen yogurt options that you can enjoy safely and what you should avoid.

2 Sources
Verywell Fit uses only high-quality sources, including peer-reviewed studies, to support the facts within our articles. Read our editorial process to learn more about how we fact-check and keep our content accurate, reliable, and trustworthy.
  1. Plain yogurt. FoodData Central. U.S. Department of Agriculture.

  2. Celiac Disease Foundation. How to tell if a packaged food is gluten-free.

By Jane Anderson
Jane Anderson is a medical journalist and an expert in celiac disease, gluten sensitivity, and the gluten-free diet.