Gluten-Free Vodka List

Vodka Made From Potatoes, Corn, Grapes, and Even Figs


Verywell / Alexandra Shytsman

Vodka traditionally is made from grains (usually the gluten grains wheat, barley, and rye). But there's a growing slate of specialty vodkas made from alternative materials such as corn, potatoes, and grapes... and there's some evidence that these vodkas may fit into a gluten-free diet better than traditional vodka options.

Many people with celiac disease and non-celiac gluten sensitivity find they can't drink vodka that's been distilled from gluten grains. However, these people frequently find that they can tolerate non-gluten-grain-based vodka just fine.

Gluten Free Vodka

  • Blue Ice vodka
  • Bombora vodka
  • Boyd & Blair vodka
  • Broken Shed vodka
  • Cayman Blue vodka
  • CooranBong vodka
  • Chopin vodka
  • Ciroc Ultra Premium vodka
  • Cold River vodka
  • Crystal Head vodka
  • Deep Eddy vodka
  • Devotion vodka
  • DiVine vodka
  • DOT AU vodka
  • Famous vodka
  • Glacier vodka
  • Grand Teton vodka
  • Iceberg vodka
  • Kissui vodka
  • Kleiner Feigling vodka
  • Krome vodka
  • L'chaim Kosher vodka
  • Lokka vodka
  • Luksusowa vodka
  • Monopolowa vodka
  • Portland potato vodka
  • RWB vodka
  • Schramm Organic potato vodka
  • Smirnoff vodka
  • Social House vodka
  • Stoli Gluten Free vodka
  • Tito's handmade vodka
  • Vikingfjord vodka
  • Zodiac vodka

What to Know About Gluten-Free Vodka Brands

It's not always obvious which vodkas on the liquor store shelves are made from gluten grains and which are not, so here's the list of your various gluten-free vodka options:

  • Blue Ice vodka: Blue Ice makes three different vodkas: Potato, Huckleberry, and Wheat. Both the wheat and the potato vodkas are processed in the same facility, so even though the potatoes themselves are gluten-free, there may be cross-contamination with the wheat. If you decide to try Blue Ice brand, make sure you grab the blue bottle, which contains the Huckleberry vodka and is the only one specifically labeled "gluten-free."
  • Bombora vodka: Bombora, a grape-based vodka, is imported from Australia. The company makes only grape-based vodka, so there should be few concerns about gluten cross-contamination in the facility.
  • Boyd & Blair vodka: Boyd & Blair, made at Pennsylvania Distilleries in Glenshaw, Pa., is crafted from small, local batches of potatoes.
  • Broken Shed vodka: This New Zealand vodka is distilled from "pure New Zealand whey" and blended with spring water. According to the manufacturer, it's free of GMOs, additives, chemicals, or any added sugar. It's widely available in 23 states, or you can purchase it online.
  • Cayman Blue vodka: Cayman Blue, produced in the Dominican Republic from sugar cane and spring water, is the first distilled spirit certified gluten-free by the Gluten-Free Certification Organization (GFCO), which tests products to make sure they contain fewer than 10 parts per million of gluten.
  • CooranBong vodka: This is another grape-based vodka imported from Australia. 
  • Chopin vodka: Chopin makes three varieties of vodka: wheat, potato, and rye. Obviously, if you react to vodka distilled from gluten grains, you need to stick with the potato-based vodka, which comes in a bottle with a black cap and lettering.
  • Ciroc Ultra Premium vodka: Ciroc, another premium vodka, this time made from grapes, comes in eight different flavors (plus seasonal varieties like Summer Watermelon). Ciroc's plain vodka is considered gluten-free.
  • Cold River vodka: Cold River potato vodka is made in Maine and comes in three flavors: Original Potato, Distiller's Reserve, and Blueberry (made with real Maine wild blueberries). All are considered gluten-free. Interestingly, the company also makes an unusual potato-based gin (see the article Is Gin Gluten-Free? for more information).
  • Crystal Head vodka: Available in—you guessed it—a clear head-shaped bottle, Crystal Head vodka is distilled in Newfoundland, Canada, from peaches and cream corn, making it grain-based but free of gluten grains. It's then filtered through semi-precious crystals known as Herkimer diamonds. The vodka contains no additives. The company producing Crystal Head vodka was co-founded by actor Dan Aykroyd and artist John Alexander in 2008.
  • Deep Eddy vodka: This American-made vodka is distilled from corn in Austin, Tex. It comes in plain vodka plus seven flavors. The Original, Peach, Cranberry, Lemon, Lime, and Ruby Red (grapefruit) flavors are all labeled gluten-free.
  • Devotion vodka: Devotion vodka bills itself as the first brand to introduce a full line of U.S.-produced gluten-free and sugar-free flavored vodkas. Devotion features seven flavors: Pure, Wild Cherry, Coconut, Blood Orange, Black and Blue, "Tiki", and "The Perfect Cosmo." If you're sensitive to dairy, note that Devotion adds casein protein from cow's milk to its final products to improve "mouth feel."
  • DiVine vodka: DiVine vodka is made from grapes by RoundBarn Winery in southwest Michigan. The winery/distillery does not process any gluten grains.
  • DOT AU vodka: This Australian small-batch vodka is distilled from Queensland sugarcane. It's not widely available in the U.S., but can be found at some events featuring Australian culture and products.
  • Famous vodka: Famous vodka is made from Idaho russet potatoes and water from the spring-fed Snake River in Idaho. Famous sells a traditional vodka and a rose-flavored vodka infused with rose extract.
  • Glacier vodka: Glacier vodka, made in Idaho out of Idaho potatoes, does not include any gluten grains, according to the company. Be aware it's made in a facility that also makes a wheat-based vodka (actually, it's the same facility that makes Blue Ice vodkas).
  • Grand Teton vodka: This potato-based vodka is made from Idaho potatoes in Idaho, in the Grand Teton foothills. The company also makes corn-based whiskey.
  • Iceberg vodka: This is another Canadian vodka made from cream corn, rendering it safe for those who are gluten-free and react to alcoholic beverages made from gluten grains. Iceberg vodka also uses ice harvested from Canadian icebergs, which the manufacturers consider far purer than tap water (it's been frozen for some 20,000 years). For those concerned about the environment, the company says it only uses ice that has already broken off from Arctic glaciers.
  • Kissui vodka: Made in Japan, Kissui vodka is crafted from rice and natural spring water. "Kissui" means "pure," or "made from one ingredient." Manufacturer Takara also makes multiple varieties of sake (for more on this, see Is Sake Gluten-Free or Not?)
  • Kleiner Feigling vodka: This is the only vodka on the list that's made from figs (which, of course, are gluten-free). Some say it's more a liqueur than a vodka, as it has a lower alcohol content than traditional vodka. It also contains natural fig flavoring (I've seen references to a "Fig Newton nose," which might suit you if really miss Fig Newtons). Kleiner Feigling is imported from Germany.
  • Krome vodka: Krome vodka is made from corn in Oregon and bills itself as "naturally gluten-free." According to the manufacturer, there is barley present in the facility where Krome is made, and some of the same equipment is used for both the barley-based and the corn-based alcohol products. "All tanks are cleaned far beyond standards" between products, according to the distiller.
  • L'chaim Kosher vodka: This vodka is made from organic corn and distilled using practices that originated in Israel. It is labeled gluten-free by its manufacturer, which also produces wine, rum and tequila (nothing from gluten grains).
  • Lokka vodka: Lokka vodka, manufactured in Turkey, is distilled from grapes. It's packaged in an eye-catching purple bottle with orange lettering. It's available in the United Kingdom but not in the U.S.
  • Luksusowa vodka: Poland-crafted Luksusowa (which means "luxurious" in Polish) is the top-selling potato vodka in the world, according to distributor W.J. Deutch & Sons. Luksusowa makes only potato vodka, so again, any concerns about facility cross-contamination should be minimal.
  • Monopolowa vodka: This potato-based vodka originated in Poland and now is distilled in Austria. The company also produces a gin made from potatoes (see Is Gin Gluten-Free? for more grainless gin options).
  • Portland potato vodka: Eastside Distilling in Portland, OR, bills this vodka as "the Northwest's new premium vodka." Note that the company does distill gluten grain-containing bourbon and whiskey in the same facility.
  • RWB vodka: This vodka, made from Idaho potatoes, is marketed by International Spirits and Beverage Group, Inc., and prominently features the words "gluten-free" on the package. Be aware that it's made in a facility that also processes gluten grains.
  • Schramm Organic potato vodka: This British Columbia potato vodka is certified organic, with no artificial colors, chemical additives, or GMO products. The vodka is made in small batches using mountain water. Schramm also makes an organic potato-based gin. The website says it is only shipping within Canada at this time.
  • Smirnoff vodka: Smirnoff is distilled from corn, and the company's plain vodka should be safe, even if you're sensitive to gluten-grain-based alcohol. Smirnoff also is offering "Smirnoff Sourced" flavored vodka, which contains 10% fruit juice from concentrate and is labeled "gluten-free." Smirnoff Sourced flavors include Ruby Red Grapefruit, Pineapple, and Green Apple. However, watch out for Smirnoff Ice beverages (the kind that comes in six-packs)—they are malt-based and not gluten-free—but there are gluten-free ciders and beer alternatives.
  • Social House vodka: This small North Carolina company distills its vodka from locally-sourced corn and water from Black Creek Aquifer. Social House utilizes a proprietary filtration process to make its vodka as pure as possible. 
  • Stoli Gluten Free vodka. Unlike regular Stoli Premium Vodka (which is made from the gluten grains wheat and rye), Stoli Gluten Free is made from a recipe of 88% corn and 12% buckwheat, according to the company.
  • Tito's handmade vodka: Tito's is made in Texas from corn. Here's the rather extensive (but helpful!) gluten-free statement: "Tito’s is made from 100% corn and as a distilled spirit, is completely gluten-free. Some producers add a bit of mash back into the spirit after distillation, which would add gluten content into an otherwise gluten-free distillate (if using wheat as the base), but I don’t do that regardless. It’s an important thing for us, and we actually include “GLUTEN-FREE” in lots of our materials and on the website so people can make informed choices. But, I am a vodka man, not a doctor, so if you have more questions or concerns, you should definitely talk to your doctor about it!" Tito's is certified gluten-free by the Gluten-Free Certification Organization (GFCO).
  • Vikingfjord vodka: Vikingfjord is another pure potato vodka which is made in Norway.
  • Zodiac vodka: Made from potatoes in Idaho's Snake River aquifer, Zodiac is crafted in small batches and labeled "gluten-free." It's available in plain and black cherry flavors.

You obviously won't find all these brands in bars. But most restaurants and bars stock Smirnoff, and you'll likely find Tito's behind better-stocked bars—it's become a real favorite.

Why Consider Gluten-Free Vodka

Lots of people with celiac disease and non-celiac gluten sensitivity react to alcohol that's made from gluten grains, even though experts agree that the distillation process gets rid of the harmful gluten protein. So what's really going on?

Unfortunately, that's not clear. It's possible that some smaller pieces of the gluten protein remain even after distillation. It's also possible that the problem is gluten cross-contamination at the place of distillation. Regardless, if you like vodka but find you can't drink vodkas made from wheat, barley, or rye, you do have plenty of alternatives.

Vodka manufacturers are not legally entitled to use the words "gluten-free" on their products unless their vodka was not made with a gluten grain. Therefore, you should be able to trust brands that advertise their gluten-free status.

Does Gluten-Free Vodka Cost More?

No, not at all. Vodka made from non-gluten ingredients such as potatoes and corn is readily available right alongside gluten grain vodkas in the liquor store. Sure, you can purchase top shelf brands, but labels like Luksusowa are reasonably priced.

What About Flavored Vodkas?

Flavored vodkas are trendy and obviously have developed a huge following. If you need vodka that's not made from gluten grains, you do have some excellent alternatives: try Iceberg Vodka's Chocolate Mint or Devotion's Blood Orange, for starters.

Unfortunately, sticking with gluten-free vodka will mean you can't experiment with some of the top flavored vodkas on the market today, such as Effen's cucumber vodka (it's made from wheat). But any of Smirnoff's wide variety of flavors should be safe, since Smirnoff is made from corn.

A Word From Verywell

Not everyone with celiac disease or non-celiac gluten sensitivity needs to stick with gluten-free vodka—some people do just fine with vodka made from gluten grains. But if you're someone who does react to conventional alcohol, you'll be glad to know you still can enjoy vodka and still avoid a glutening.

Verywell Fit uses only high-quality sources, including peer-reviewed studies, to support the facts within our articles. Read our editorial process to learn more about how we fact-check and keep our content accurate, reliable, and trustworthy.

By Jane Anderson
Jane Anderson is a medical journalist and an expert in celiac disease, gluten sensitivity, and the gluten-free diet.