Gluten-Free Veggie Burgers Brands

Finding gluten-free veggie burgers—ready-to-eat burgers suitable for both the gluten-free diet and a vegetarian or vegan diet—can represent somewhat of a challenge since many of the meat substitute products on the market use wheat gluten as a primary ingredient. However, the surge in popularity of both diets has led to a smattering of new gluten-free veggie burgers on the market.

Gluten-free vegetarians and vegans now have a growing array of options. For the most part, you can find many of these veggie burgers in the health food section of larger supermarkets. In addition, some can be ordered online.

Gluten-Free Veggie Burger Brands

Here's a rundown of what's available with details of each product's ingredients (especially their soy content, since many people following the gluten-free diet also avoid soy), plus each product's potential trace gluten content (hint: lower is better) and possible risks of gluten cross-contamination in processing:


Amy's Kitchen makes two different gluten-free veggie burgers (both of which are suitable for vegans as well as for vegetarians): the Bistro Veggie Burger, with soy protein, tofu, mushrooms, brown rice, onions and pinto beans, and the Sonoma Veggie Burger, with quinoa, mushrooms, onions, garbanzo bean flour, gluten-free oats and walnuts.

Both are manufactured in a shared facility. Amy's tests its products to ensure they contain less than 20 parts per million of gluten, which is the legal limit for labeling a product "gluten-free" (keep in mind that many people react to trace gluten levels well below the legal standard).

Asherah's Gourmet

These burgers, made with organic quinoa, are both vegan and certified gluten-free by the Gluten-Free Certification Organization (GFCO), which requires that foods contain less than 10 parts per million of gluten. Asherah's veggie burgers also are free of soy, dairy, eggs, peanuts, tree nuts, sesame, and shellfish, although they do contain coconut. They come in two flavors: Original and Chipotle.

Bahama Rice Burgers

As you might guess from the name, Bahama Rice Burgers gluten-free and soy-free burgers use rice—more specifically, a rice-based ingredient the company has dubbed "risofu"—as their base. Five flavors of certified vegan gluten-free veggie burgers are available: Original, Grand Beach, Mediterranean, Jerkin'-Spicy, and Pineapple-Mango. The company also offers Tuscany Italian Rice Meatballs, plus Italian Sausage.

Dr. Praeger's

Dr. Praeger's makes a variety of veggie burgers, and six flavors are gluten-free: Mushroom Risotto, Heirloom Bean, Black Bean Quinoa, California Veggie, Kale Veggie, and Super Greens. The burgers contain soy, plus carrots, onions, zucchini, string beans, and peas, along with other veggie ingredients such as kale and beans.

They are made on shared equipment, although a company representative tells me the facility utilizes a strict cleaning protocol, and Dr. Praeger's gluten-free products are made on separate days from gluten-based products. The company tests its gluten-free products to ensure they fall below 10 parts per million of gluten, and all gluten-free flavors are prominently labeled.


Gardein makes a variety of meat substitute products, some of which include wheat as an ingredient. But the company is committed to serving the growing gluten-free community with a line of gluten-free products, including a veggie burger, a black bean burger, and a ground beef substitute. Look for a prominent "gluten-free" banner on the packaging. All Gardein gluten-free products should be gluten-free to less than 20 parts per million.

Hillary's Eat Well

Hillary's Eat Well markets three different gluten-free veggie burgers, all of which are vegan and certified gluten-free by GFCO. You can choose from the World's Best Veggie Burgers (made with millet, quinoa, coconut oil, spinach, onion, and sweet potato), Adzuki Bean Burgers (made with millet, quinoa, adzuki beans and mild green chiles), and Hemp & Greens Burgers (made with millet, leafy greens, hemp seed and herbs). All are soy-free, corn-free, yeast-free and GMO-free.

Qrunch Foods

Veggie burgers from Qrunch Foods are made with organic quinoa, millet, and vegetables, and all are gluten-free, dairy-free, soy-free, corn-free, nut-free, egg-free and GMO-free. They're manufactured in a gluten-free facility, and they qualify as vegan, according to the company. Qrunch burgers (which are crunchy rather than soft) come in two flavors: Original and Spicy Italian.

Sunshine Burgers

Sunshine Burgers organic, non-GMO, vegan burgers come in six different flavors: Garden Herb, Quarter Pound Original, Black Bean South West, Barbecue, Falafel, Shitake and Mushroom. All are free of soy, corn, oats, dairy, eggs, tree nuts and peanuts.

The products are made on a dedicated gluten-free production line, but in a facility that also processes gluten grains. Sunshine Burgers tests its products regularly to make certain they contain less than 5 parts per million of gluten (GF-5 levels).

A Word from Verywell

If you're eating gluten-free, you'll need to steer well clear of several popular brands of veggie burgers, since they use wheat gluten as a major ingredient in their products. Avoid Morningstar Farms, Boca Burgers, and Gardenburger products—virtually all of their products contain wheat and gluten ingredients, and those that do not will be subject to gluten cross-contamination.

Oh, and finally: if you want to put that gluten-free veggie burger on a gluten-free bun, there are many options you can try.

Was this page helpful?
Article Sources
Verywell Fit uses only high-quality sources, including peer-reviewed studies, to support the facts within our articles. Read our editorial process to learn more about how we fact-check and keep our content accurate, reliable, and trustworthy.
  1. Gluten Intolerance Group of North America (GIG). GFCO Certification Scheme Manual Rev. 2020.1. Published 2020.

Additional Reading