Special Diets Gluten-Free Print Gluten-Free Vegetarian and Vegan Food List Gluten-free and vegetarian or vegan options include convenience foods By Jane Anderson Updated November 27, 2018 More in Special Diets Gluten-Free Grains Other Foods Beverages Cooking/Dining Out Products Low-Carb When you're following a gluten-free vegetarian or vegan diet, you know there's a wide swath of the grocery store you just need to avoid: the meat counter, much of the dairy section (if you're vegan or dairy-free), the bread aisle and most conventional pastas, soups and frozen foods. But despite these dietary restrictions, there's plenty you can eat, too. You just need to choose carefully... and never forget to double-check ingredients and labels when you're shopping. Here's the list of gluten-free and vegetarian or vegan foods. We've organized it by store section to make it easier for you to shop on your diet. Still, if you're looking for more information on what's safe and what's not on your diet, check out this comprehensive gluten-free food list, plus how to spot hidden dairy ingredients on food labels. We've also included lots of links on the following pages to lists of specific foods (think: chips, salad dressings and frozen pizzas) that are vegetarian or vegan as well as being gluten-free. Going gluten-free and vegetarian or vegan can be challenging, since so much of our food contains one or the other... if not both. Hopefully this list will help you make the transition smoothly, and enjoy your new lifestyle. 1 Fruits and Vegetables What can you eat on a gluten-free vegetarian or vegan diet? Lots!. Getty Images/Anthony Bradshaw As a gluten-free vegetarian or vegan, you should spend the bulk of your time grocery shopping in the produce section, since virtually everything you'll find there is both gluten-free and vegan. The few exceptions include processed foods such as the containers of refrigerated salad dressing (most of these contain dairy, which is fine if you're a lacto-ovo vegetarian but won't work if you're vegan or simply avoid dairy products) and the jars of fruit with syrup added (the vast majority are fine, but double-check; some may contain honey, which is off-limits to strict vegans). You may also find refrigerated meat substitutes in this section, and you'll often run into problems with these—not from a vegetarian or vegan point of view (they're obviously aimed at that market), but from a gluten-free point of view. Unfortunately, many of these meat substitute products contain wheat-derived ingredients that aren't safe on the gluten-free diet. You'll need to track your protein intake in order to get enough protein on the gluten-free vegetarian or vegan diet. When it comes to frozen or canned fruits or vegetables, single-ingredient products almost certainly will be vegetarian/vegan. They may not be safely gluten-free, however, depending on how sensitive you are to trace gluten. You'll need to read labels carefully to look for warnings that the product has been processed in a shared facility or on equipment shared with wheat. Finally, frozen or canned fruits and vegetables with multiple ingredients may or may not be gluten-free and/or vegetarian/vegan—you'll have to scan the labels for unsafe ingredients. 2 Breads, Snacks and Pasta Lauri Patterson / Getty Images You'll certainly be purchasing gluten-free bread, pasta and snack products (assuming you eat them) if you're following a gluten-free vegetarian or vegan diet. But you'll need to watch your labels carefully, especially if you're vegan, since many makers of gluten-free products use ingredients such as eggs and milk. When it comes to gluten-free bread, you might want to consider Ener-G and Schar products—both brands include gluten-free, dairy-free and egg-free options. You also can find gluten-free vegetarian and vegan bagels and English muffins from various gluten-free manufacturers. If you're craving cookies, many of the more popular gluten-free store-bought options are vegetarian or vegan—just check the ingredients list to be sure. If you need vegan cookies, Lucy's Cookies, Enjoy Life, Andean Dream and Nana's all offer selections of gluten-free vegetarian or vegan cookies. Meanwhile, gluten-free vegetarian and vegan snacks will be somewhat easier to find, since many conventional chips and gluten-free crackers already omit dairy and egg. For gluten-free pasta that's also vegetarian or vegan, your options expand even more, since pasta ingredients typically include just a blend of flours, possibly with some sort of binder. Check out Ancient Harvest's quinoa pasta, made with a blend of quinoa and organic, non-GMO corn flours, or Jovial Foods pasta, made with only brown rice and water. Both are made in gluten-free facilities, and the Jovial Foods product is certified gluten-free. Banza pasta, made from chickpeas, is gluten-free and vegan. Manufacturers also make gluten-free bagels, gluten-free English muffins and gluten-free crackers in vegetarian and vegan options. 3 Soups, Frozen Pizza and More LauriPatterson / Getty Images As you might imagine, most conventional prepared foods—think pizza, frozen dinners and canned soups—aren't safe on a gluten-free vegetarian or vegan diet. But if you shop the health food section as opposed to the regular grocery aisles, you will have some decent choices. We've identified several gluten-free vegan frozen pizza alternatives on the market, plus another handful that would suit you if you eat eggs but not dairy. Alternatively, you always can make your own pizza using your choice of toppings and a gluten-free vegan crust. If you do eat dairy products, you can find frozen or boxed gluten-free vegetarian macaroni dishes—Glutino and Amy's each produce gluten-free vegetarian pasta meals, as does Conte's Pasta. In addition, "just add water" entrees from Thai Kitchen are listed as vegan and gluten-free (to less than 20 parts per million). Amy's also makes several gluten-free vegan "bowls," including Indian entrees—all are considered gluten-free to less than 20 parts per million (read more here on trace gluten: Why Gluten Parts Per Million Numbers Matter) Meanwhile, several of the boxed soups from Pacific Natural Foods and Imagine Foods are listed as vegan and gluten-free (again, to below 20 parts per million), and Udi's Gluten-Free and GlutenFreeda each make gluten-free vegetarian frozen burritos (GlutenFreeda also makes one that's vegetarian and dairy-free). Finally, more than half a dozen companies have come out with gluten-free vegetarian and vegan veggie burgers. 4 Baking Mixes and Supplies Wheat flour isn't gluten-free, but other flour types are safe. Maximillian Stock Ltd. As a gluten-free vegetarian or vegan shopping for baking mixes, you'll obviously be buying only "gluten-free"-marked packages. But you'll also need to watch out for animal ingredients... and unfortunately for vegans in particular, many of the various possibilities contain either milk or eggs. Still, vegans do have a few options. Cherrybrook Kitchen considers its full line of gluten-free mixes to be vegan, and most of Pamela's Products' mixes also are vegan—the possibilities include cakes, brownies, cookies and pancake batter. Glutino has a vegan brownie mix, and everything Wholesome Chow makes is gluten-free and vegan. Meanwhile, if you do eat milk products or eggs, you can use virtually any of the gluten-free mix products on the market—just be sure to double-check the ingredients. When baking from scratch, you probably know that baking supplies such as cornstarch and gluten-free flour are acceptably vegetarian and vegan. But not all baking supplies are created equal on the gluten-free diet: some are considered gluten-free, while others are not. For example, not all oatmeal is gluten-free, and some sugar options are better than others. 5 Condiments and Drinks Salsa. Lauri Patterson/Vetta/Getty Images Buying condiments and drinks is relatively easy when you're gluten-free and vegetarian, especially if you eat dairy and eggs. And it's not too much trouble even when you're a gluten-free vegan, either. Ketchup, salsa and mustard rarely contain any animal-derived ingredients (although you'll need to watch out for honey if you're vegan), so you'll really only need to watch out for their gluten-free status. Any animal-flavored spices are most likely to be clearly labeled as such (watch out for seasoning blend mixes), so just double-check your choices for added gluten (yes, some will have that). True mayonnaise-based salad dressings won't work for vegans (they likely will contain eggs and possibly milk ingredients), but they will work for vegetarians who consume those ingredients ... and there's a huge variety of possibilities of gluten-free salad dressings on the market. Meanwhile, vegans who crave gluten-free mayonnaise can turn to Vegenaise, which the company considers gluten-free, or alternatively can use one of the gluten-free-labeled oil-and-vinegar-based dressings on the market. On to beverages: many non-alcoholic beverages on the market are considered gluten-free. This includes a wide selection of juices, soda, iced tea, sports drinks, and energy drinks. Many also are considered suitable for vegans (and by extension, vegetarians), although a few may contain gelatin, cochineal (a red food coloring made from crushed beetles) or shellac (made from material secreted from the lac insect). Double-check your labels for those ingredients, and look for gluten ingredients at the same time—most non-alcoholic drinks are gluten-free, but some aren't. And finally, if you want to enjoy an alcoholic beverage, you face several pitfalls. Not all alcohol is gluten-free. Conventional beer is an obvious example of a non-gluten-free drink, but some people also react to distilled alcohol derived from gluten grains. And even if the drink you find is gluten-free, it may not be vegetarian or vegan—many beer and wine products are clarified using animal-derived substances such as gelatin, egg albumen and casein (milk protein), and a few may contain cream (think Irish cream whiskey) or honey. Fortunately, there are numerous vegan wines on the market (you may need to call manufacturers to confirm the vegan status of a particular wine), and even a few gluten-free vegan beers, including Green's Original Gluten-Free and Harvester Brewing. A Word from Verywell If you're a gluten-free vegetarian or vegan, it may sometimes seem that most foods are off-limits to you. But there's actually plenty you can eat (even if you have to do more cooking than most people). Just remember to check ingredients lists carefully, and watch your protein intake to make sure you get enough. Was this page helpful? Thanks for your feedback! Following a gluten-free diet can be challenging. We're here to help. Sign up and receive our free recipe guide for delicious gluten-free meals! Email Address Sign Up There was an error. Please try again. Thank you, , for signing up. What are your concerns? Other Inaccurate Hard to Understand Submit Article Sources Celiac Disease Foundation. What Should I Eat? Fact Sheet.