Best Brands of Gluten-Free Tortilla Chips

Tortilla chips

Verywell / Alexandra Shytsman

Tortilla chips can be made from wheat or from corn. Only the tortilla chips made from pure corn are gluten-free. In addition, most corn tortilla chips contain no gluten ingredients, but you shouldn't assume that they're gluten-free many are subject to gluten cross-contamination from shared facilities and from the raw materials used to make them.

Fortunately, there are numerous manufacturers who make tortilla chips that are labeled "gluten-free," and these will be safe for people with celiac disease and non-celiac gluten sensitivity.

Gluten-Free Tortilla Chips to Buy

To make sure you're purchasing gluten-free tortilla chips, you should stick with gluten-free-labeled packages. Fortunately, there are numerous manufacturers out there who make them. Here's a list of what's available:

1. The Better Chip. The Better Chip makes five flavors of tortilla chips: sweet corn, jalapeno, spinach and kale, beet, and chipotle. All chips are made in facilities certified gluten-free by the Gluten-Free Certification Organization, are verified non-GMO, and are labeled as "vegan-friendly." Look for them on Amazon and in some supermarkets.

2. Cabo Chips. This small company produces tortilla chips that are non-GMO and made with all-natural ingredients. All five flavors of Cabo Chips — including original, blue corn, mango chili lime, churro, and ancient grain — are listed as gluten-free. Ancient grain chips contain teff, amaranth, and chia.

3. Food Should Taste Good tortilla chips. Food Should Taste Good makes a variety of really interesting tortilla chip flavors, including olive, chocolate and "The Works!" (loaded with onion, garlic, poppy and caraway seeds). The company's facilities (which also make gluten-free potato chips and gluten-free multigrain chips) are certified gluten-free gluten by the GFCO.

4. Frito-Lay tortilla chips. Frito-Lay now publishes a list of products that contain fewer than 20 parts per million of gluten, and the list includes plenty of gluten-free tortilla chip and corn chip options. For example, many Tostitos products, including Natural Yellow Corn Chips and Natural Blue Corn Chips, are considered gluten-free, as are Frito's Original Corn Chips and Frito's Scoops! Corn Chips, and many Santitas products. However, we'd advise some caution when purchasing Frito-Lay products—many people with celiac disease and gluten sensitivity (even some who are not particularly sensitive) report getting glutened by Frito-Lay products.

5. Garden of Eatin' tortilla chips. Garden of Eatin', a Hain Celestial Group brand, makes several varieties of corn chips. Most are now labeled gluten-free, which means they'll meet the U.S. Food and Drug Administration standard of less than 20 parts per million of gluten. Most or all are produced in a plant that also processes gluten-containing products, including Garden of Eatin's barley-and-wheat-containing multi-grain chips. Make sure any Garden of Eatin' product you purchase sports a "gluten-free" logo.

6. Kettle Brand tortilla chips. Kettle is certified gluten-free by the GFCO, which means that its facilities are inspected to adhere to gluten-free standards. Some of its chip flavors do contain milk.

7. Late July tortilla chips. This company also is gluten-free certified by the GFCO. Late July offers gluten-free tortilla chips in a variety of flavors ranging from sea salt to jalapeno lime, ranch and bacon habanero.

8. Mission Foods tortilla chips. Mission Foods corn tortilla chips are labeled gluten-free, which means they meet the FDA standard of less than 20 parts per million of gluten. They are produced in a plant that also processes wheat tortilla products.

9. Way Better tortilla chips. Way Better Snacks sprouts its grain ingredients before using them to create tortilla chips, which the company says helps to unlock the nutrients in the corn and other grains it uses. All the company's products are certified gluten-free by the GFCO, meaning they contain less than 10 parts per million of gluten. They're produced on dedicated gluten-free lines. Corn tortilla chip flavors include Unbeatable Blues, Simply So Sweet Chili, and No-Salt Naked Blues. Again, these are tough to find in stores.

A Word From Verywell

There are at least two instances in which pure corn tortilla chips would not be considered gluten-free.

Utz, which makes several different types of corn tortilla chip products, maintains a gluten-free snack list; however, many people report reactions that they've traced to Utz products. When you read the fine print in the company's gluten statement, it doesn't actually guarantee that the products on the list are gluten-free. So, steer clear, and choose a certified gluten-free tortilla chip product instead.

In addition, it's suggested to avoid many corn tortilla chips served in restaurants. The problem there isn't the chips' ingredients—it's that the chips often are fried in a fryer that's shared with other items that are coated with wheat flour. If a restaurant assures you that it uses a dedicated gluten-free fryer (some do), then the chips will be safe.

Was this page helpful?
Article Sources
Verywell Fit uses only high-quality sources, including peer-reviewed studies, to support the facts within our articles. Read our editorial process to learn more about how we fact-check and keep our content accurate, reliable, and trustworthy.
  1. Gluten Free Foods. Celiac Disease Foundation. 

  2. Gluten and Food Labeling. U.S. Food and Drug Administration. Updated July 16, 2018.