Which Sodas Are Gluten-Free?

Most brands are safe, but ingredients and nutritional details vary

woman reaching for colorful soda
Jamie Grill/Getty Images

Fans of soda who also happen to have celiac disease or non-celiac gluten sensitivity will be pleased to know that most popular sodas (known as "pop" in some places) are considered gluten-free by their manufacturers. Popular sodas that are considered gluten-free by their manufacturers include:

  • Coca-Cola
  • Diet Coke
  • Pepsi
  • Diet Pepsi
  • 7UP
  • Sprite
  • Sunkist

However, before you run out and buy cases upon cases of various sodas to enjoy, a word or two of caution is in order.

First, this list applies only to the United States and (where noted) Canada; unfortunately, formulations vary (sometimes significantly) by country, and a soda that's considered safe in the U.S. might not be safe in other places. In addition, some sodas may have no gluten ingredients but may be manufactured on shared equipment or in a shared facility, making them unsafe for those of us with celiac or gluten sensitivity.

Second, this list only applies to brand-name sodas. Generic or store-brand versions of the same drinks may or may not use the same ingredients, and may not be gluten-free. Unless the store labels its own products "gluten-free," you may be better off buying the name brand.

Third, these beverages are all quite processed and are considered gluten-free only to less than 20 parts per million (20 ppm) of gluten (a lower number is better). Therefore, if you tend to react to less gluten than that—as many people do—it may take some trial and error for you to find a soda brand that suits your particular level of sensitivity. 

Gluten-Free Soda List

Here's the list of major soda brands and flavors that the manufacturers consider to be gluten-free (plus a couple of popular sodas that do not appear on the gluten-free lists):

  • A&W Root Beer: A&W Root Beer comes in five flavors, including: Original, diet (made with aspartame), A&W 10 (made with aspartame; 10 calories per serving), cream soda, and diet cream soda (made with aspartame). All A&W Root Beer flavors are considered gluten-free to 20 ppm, according to the company, which is part of the Dr. Pepper-Snapple beverage group.
  • Barq's: Barq's is a Coca-Cola company. Barq's products include: root beer, diet root beer (made with aspartame), creme soda, and red creme soda. All are considered gluten-free (to 20 parts per million) in both the U.S. and Canada.
  • Coke and Coca-Cola: According to the Coca-Cola Co., the following Coke-branded products are considered gluten-free to 20 ppm in the U.S.: Coca-Cola, Caffeine-Free Coca-Cola, Diet Coke (made with aspartame), Caffeine-Free Diet Coke, Coca-Cola Zero (made with aspartame and acesulfame K), Cherry Coke, Diet Cherry Coke (made with aspartame), Cherry Coke Zero (made with aspartame and acesulfame K), and Diet Coke with Splenda. Note that in Canada, some of these products do not appear on the company's Canadian gluten-free list. 
  • Dr. Pepper: All Dr. Pepper products are considered gluten-free to 20 ppm, according to the company. This includes: Dr. Pepper, Dr. Pepper Cherry, Dr. Pepper 10 (made with aspartame; 10 calories per serving), Diet Dr. Pepper (made with aspartame), Caffeine-Free Dr. Pepper, Diet Dr. Pepper Cherry (made with aspartame), Dr. Pepper Cherry Vanilla, Diet Dr. Pepper Cherry Vanilla (made with aspartame), and Diet Caffeine-free Dr. Pepper (made with aspatame). The company notes that its products contain corn gluten, which is not harmful to people with celiac disease and non-celiac gluten sensitivity.
  • 1893 Original Cola. 1893 Original Cola from PepsiCo. is considered gluten-free. Flavors include: Original Cola (sweetened with sugar; 150 calories per 12 oz. serving), Ginger Cola (sweetened with sugar; 150 calories per 12 oz. serving), Black Currant Cola (sweetened with sugar; 150 calories per 12 oz. serving), and Citrus Cola (sweetened with sugar; 150 calories per 12 oz. serving).
  • Fanta: Fanta Grape, Fanta Orange, and Fanta Orange Zero are considered gluten-free to 20 ppm in the U.S. They are Coca-Cola products. Note that they don't appear on Coke's Canadian gluten-free list.
  • Fresca: Fresca, which has zero calories and is caffeine-free, is considered gluten-free in both the United States and Canada, according to manufacturer Coca-Cola. It's available in three flavors: original citrus, peach citrus, and black cherry citrus (all sweetened with aspartame and acesulfame K).
  • MelloYello is not considered gluten-free, according to manufacturer Coca-Cola.
  • Mist Twist (formerly Sierra Mist) is considered gluten-free to 20ppm. It's offered in regular (150 calories per 12 oz. serving) and diet (sweetened by aspartame).
  • Mountain Dew and diet Mountain Dew (sweetened with aspartame and acesulfame K) are available in a huge lineup of flavors, all of which are considered gluten-free. Options include: Mountain Dew Ice (contains 91 mg. of caffeine), 12 flavors of Mountain Dew Kickstart (contains 90 mg. of caffeine and 5 calories per serving; sweetened with sucralose, aspartame, and acesulfame K), Mountain Dew Black Label and White Label (made with grape and orange juice; contains 83 mg. of caffeine and 210 calories per 16 oz. serving), Mountain Dew Pitch Black, Voltage, Live Wire, White Out, Code Red, Diet Code Red (made with aspartame and acesulfame K), and Dew-S-A (a combination of Code Red, White Out, and Voltage). 
  • Mug Root Beer: Both Mug and Mug Cream Root Beer are considered gluten-free by manufacturer PepsiCo.
  • Pepsi: All Pepsi-branded carbonated sodas are considered gluten-free to 20 ppm. The options include: Pepsi (150 calories per 12 oz. serving), Diet Pepsi (sweetened with sucralose), Pepsi Wild Cherry (160 calories per 12 oz. serving), Pepsi Zero Sugar (sweetened with aspartame), Pepsi Wild Cherry Vanilla (130 calories per 12 oz. serving), Diet Pepsi Wild Cherry (sweetened with aspartame), Pepsi Zero Sugar Wild Cherry (sweetened with aspartame), Pepsi Real Sugar (sweetened with sugar; 150 calories per 12 oz. serving), Pepsi Caffeine-Free (150 calories per 12 oz. serving), Diet Pepsi Caffeine-Free (sweetened with aspartame), and Crystal Pepsi (sweetened with high-fructose corn syrup; 250 calories per 12 oz. serving).
  • 7UP: 7UP, considers all of its sodas gluten-free to 20 parts per million. This includes: 7Up (240 calories per 20 oz. serving), Diet 7Up (sweetened with aspartame and acesulfame K), 7Up 10 (10 calories per serving; made with aspartame), 7Up Cherry (240 calories per 20 oz. serving), and Diet 7Up Cherry (sweetened with aspartame).
  • Sprite: Both Sprite (Original, Cherry, and Tropical Mix) and Sprite Zero (Original, Cherry, and Cranberry) are gluten-free to 20ppm in both the U.S. and Canada. Regular Sprite contains 240 calories per 20 oz. serving, and Sprite Zero is sweetened with aspartame and acesulfame K.
  • Sunkist: Sunkist makes several fruit-flavored drinks that blur the lines between sodas and fruit punches. All its products are considered gluten-free to 20ppm. Diet Sunkist is sweetened with aspartame and acesulfame K.

Again, this list is only valid in the U.S. and (where noted) Canada.

A Word From Verywell

Note that many of these products contain caramel coloring as an ingredient. It's possible to make caramel coloring out of gluten grains, and gluten grain-based caramel coloring is used outside the United States. However, in the U.S., you're unlikely to encounter a gluten grain-based version of caramel coloring, so you shouldn't worry about it in the context of sodas. Caramel coloring is one reason why you need to be cautious with sodas produced for sale in other countries.

Finally, if you have some doubts about an off-brand soda you've just been handed, you may just want to drink some plain bottled water—fortunately, that's always gluten-free!