10 Recommended Gluten-Free Pickle Brands

Gluten-free pickles

Verywell / Alexandra Shytsman

Pickles generally are made with cucumbers, vinegar, and spices. Only a few pickles sold in the United States contain gluten ingredients, but that doesn't mean you can assume that any pickle you purchase (or that appears on your gluten-free hamburger bun) is safe on the gluten-free diet.

Some of the most popular pickle brands are not considered gluten-free by their manufacturers, either because they don't know if all their ingredients are safe, or because the pickles are at risk of gluten cross-contamination in processing. So what pickle brands should you buy when you're gluten-free?

These 10 pickle brands state that all or some of their products are gluten-free:

  • B&G Pickles (only the Polish dill spears, crunchy Kosher dill gherkins, and the zesty garlic spears)
  • Best Maid
  • Boar's Head (including its Hans Jurgen brand)
  • Bubbies
  • Famous Dave's (only the spicy pickle chips and the devil's spit pickle chips)
  • McClure's
  • Mt. Olive
  • Tillen Farms
  • Van Holten's
  • Wickles Pickles

Many of these brands also make relish that's gluten-free (relish and pickles share many of the same ingredients, after all). 

If you're someone who reacts to vinegar derived from gluten grains, look for either pickles made with a non-gluten-grain vinegar (Best Maid and McClure's are two brands), or for a naturally fermented pickle, which uses brine instead of vinegar (Bubbie's does this). The list below of pickle brands describes the source of the vinegar where possible.

Note that most types of pickles include vinegar. Although experts state that distillation eliminates gluten, some people with celiac disease and non-celiac gluten sensitivity react to distilled vinegar made from gluten grains.

Gluten-Free Pickle Brands

Here are the major companies selling various different types of pickles in the United States, plus what each company says about its pickles' gluten-free status:

B&G Pickles

Some gluten-free varieties. B&G, which makes pickles, relish, olives, sauerkraut, and a variety of sandwich topper mixes, has three types of pickles the company says are gluten-free. They include Polish dill spears, crunchy Kosher dill gherkins, and zesty garlic spears. According to the company, "most but not all B&G pickles and relishes do not contain any gluten ingredients and are made in a facility that does not process products that contain gluten," but B&G only has analyzed gluten content on those three products, and so does not label the others "gluten-free."


No gluten ingredients. Ba-Tampe, which advertises itself as "operating out of the Brooklyn Terminal Market for over 55 years," distributes its products throughout the northeastern U.S. Its pickle flavors, which are found in the refrigerated section of the supermarket, include: half-sour, garlic dill, deli spears, bread and butter, wonder peppers, and pickled tomatoes.

Half-sours and garlic dill pickles are made with fresh garlic and are naturally fermented. The products include no gluten ingredients but may not be gluten-free.

Best Maid

Gluten-free. This nearly 100-year-old pickle company makes all its products in Fort Worth, Tex. Best Maid offers eight varieties of pickles: dill, sour, hot, sweet, bread-n-butter, Kosher, Polish, and pickle slices.

A company customer service representative says that all are considered gluten-free, even though the company does not place "gluten-free" labels on its products. The vinegar used to make Best Maid products, including the pickles, is derived from corn.

Boar's Head

Gluten-free. Boar's Head, best known for its cold cuts, sells bread and butter pickle chips, dill pickles, and horseradish pickle chips. All are gluten-free, according to the company.

Boar's Head warns that items prepared or handled in at store deli counters may contain gluten or be cross-contaminated with gluten, so beware of Boar's Head pickles in those settings, and always ask the server to change gloves before handling your food.


Gluten-free. Unlike most store-bought pickles, Bubbies are naturally fermented, which makes them similar to homemade pickles. Bubbies offers dill pickles, spicy dill pickles, bread and butter pickles, and pickled green tomatoes. According to the company, "All of Bubbies products are gluten-free and are manufactured in a gluten-free environment."

Bubbies' pure Kosher dills and pickled green tomatoes are naturally fermented and cured in salt water brine using a lacto-fermentation process, which is a "traditional, brining process that uses kosher salt and a proprietary blend of spices."

Bubbies bread and butter chips, horseradish products and the pickled hot banana peppers found in the company's spicy Kosher dills and spicy sauerkraut are crafted with white vinegar that's derived from corn, according to a Bubbies customer service representative. 


No gluten ingredients. Claussen makes that are advertised as "always chilled, never heated," since they're not processed with heat. Claussen is a Kraft Heinz brand. Kraft Heinz only labels a few products "gluten-free."

According to Kraft, customers can determine if a product has any gluten ingredients by checking the label—the company states that it will specifically call out any ingredients that contain: wheat, barley, oats, or rye.

"However, you should know that we do not guarantee that our products are gluten-free because we sometimes purchase flavoring, color or spice ingredients from suppliers who do not list every possible source of gluten beyond what is required by law," a company customer service representative says.

Kraft notes that all its vinegar is distilled, but would not disclose the vinegar's source.

Famous Dave's

Some gluten-free varieties. Famous Dave's is known for its pit barbecue, but the company also makes pickles in three spicy varieties: spicy pickle chips, spicy pickle spears, and devil's spit pickle chips. Two of the three—the spicy pickle chips and the devil's spit pickle chips—are considered gluten-free, according to the company. All contain high-fructose corn syrup.

Farmer's Garden

No gluten ingredients. This label is made by Vlasic pickles, a huge pickle brand. The products don't contain any gluten ingredients but may be subject to gluten cross-contamination in processing.

Hans Jurgen Pickles

Gluten-free. These pickles, which are made by Boar's Head and are increasingly difficult to find, are considered gluten-free.


No gluten ingredients. Heinz offers a huge variety of pickles, ranging from tiny sweet gherkins to sandwich slices and specialty pickles like Pickalilli pickles. Heinz pickles follow the Kraft Heinz "gluten-free" policy: the product label will call out any specific gluten-containing ingredients, but the company will not guarantee that the product is gluten-free.

Ingredients sourced from outside suppliers might contain gluten, and the product could be subject to gluten cross-contamination in processing. (Note that Heinz ketchup is gluten-free—it's one of the few Kraft Heinz products to specifically state that it's gluten-free.)

Jake and Amos

No gluten ingredients. This company makes around 30 different types of pickles and pickled vegetables, ranging from dill pickle spears to Harvard pickled beets and pickled Brussels sprouts. Most don't contain any gluten, but all are manufactured in a shared facility that also processes wheat (along with soy, dairy, eggs, peanuts, and tree nuts).


No gluten ingredients. These French pickles, distributed in the U.S. by Unilever, come in four flavors: mini gourmet cornichons, mini cornichons classique, cornichons with cayenne chili peppers, and cornichons with carmelized onions. None have any gluten ingredients, but the gherkins with cayenne chili peppers carry an allergen cross-contamination warning:

"May contain wheat and milk." Unilever will call out any gluten ingredients (including in "natural flavors") and will disclose any cross-contamination risk. According to the company: "Our products are formulated for use by the majority of consumers, and not specifically for those on a restricted diet."


Gluten-free. McClure's, a small specialty company, makes pickles in four flavors: garlic dill, spicy, sweet and spicy, and bread and butter. According to a customer service representative, all flavors are considered gluten-free. McClure's uses distilled vinegar made from corn and cane sugar. Its bread and butter flavor and sweet and spicy flavor pickles also include apple cider vinegar.

Mt. Olive

Gluten-free. Mt. Olive is known for its pickles, and the company's many options include bread and butter pickles, dill pickles, real sugar pickles, no sugar added pickles, sea salt pickles, spicy pickles, and reduced sodium pickles. All varieties are gluten-free, according to a company spokesperson. Mt. Olive products also are free of dairy, eggs, peanuts, tree nuts, soy, and MSG (monosodium glutamate). Mt. Olive uses a corn-based vinegar, so if you're sensitive to vinegar based on gluten grains, this brand would be a good choice.

Nalley Pickles

No gluten ingredients. This is a small maker of pickles and relish that only distributes in the U.S. Pacific Northwest, including in northern California, Oregon, Washington state, Montana, Idaho, and Utah. Pickle flavors include bread and butter, dill and Kosher dill, Jalapeno, sweet, and zesty hot. The pickles come in chips, sandwich spears, and whole pickle sizes. According to Nalley, the pickles don't contain gluten ingredients.

Tillen Farms

Gluten-free. The specialty foods maker Tillen Farms (distributed by Stonewall Kitchen) makes seven varieties of pickles, although only one is made with the traditional cucumbers--the rest are pickled asparagus (in both mild and spicy), dilly beans (again, in both mild and spicy), carrots, and sugar snap peas. All are gluten-free, according to the company. They're also nut-free and vegan.

Van Holten's

Gluten-free. This company makes dill "pickle in a pouch" in three flavors (hearty dill, hot and spicy, tart and tangy, and zesty garlic) for those who want a fresh pickle to carry with them. Van Holten's also offers pickle-flavored freeze pops, pickleback mixer (with pickle brine), and bulk pickles. The pickle products are gluten-free, according to the company. The vinegar used is from corn.


No gluten ingredients. Vlasic (the pickle brand with the stork on its labels) makes literally dozens of varieties of pickles, plus pickled peppers and relish. None contain any gluten ingredients, according to the company. The vinegar used is corn. Vlasic is owned by Pinnacle Foods Inc., which makes everything from frozen dinners (under the Mrs. Paul's and Hungry Man labels) to Duncan Hines cake mixes and Wishbone salad dressing. Pinnacle also owns Glutino and Udi's Gluten-Free.

Wickles Pickles

Gluten-free. Wickles is a small Alabama-based company with dancing pickles on its labels. The company offers regular pickles and pickle chips, plus "dirty" (with chili flakes and turmeric extract) dill spears, chips, and baby dills. All pickle flavors are considered gluten-free, a company representative says. Wickles Pickles uses apple cider vinegar, along with some white vinegar, in its products.

Woodstock Foods

No gluten ingredients. Woodstock makes organic pickles in six flavors: sweet bread and butter, Kosher baby dill, Kosher whole dill, Kosher sliced dill, Kosher dill spears, and pickled baby carrots. The pickle products do not contain gluten ingredients, but Woodstock Foods (which does carry gluten-free certification for some of its products) are not considered gluten-free by the company.

A Word From Verywell

Pickles you encounter outside of the United States, particularly in the United Kingdom and Europe, are much more likely to contain gluten ingredients, usually in the form of malt vinegar (malt generally is made from barley, which is one of the primary gluten grains). For example, Ploughman's pickle (a popular condiment in the U.K.) often contains malt vinegar. Be aware of this when traveling, or when purchasing interesting-looking pickles online.

It's also possible to make pickles at home, using your own naturally gluten-free ingredients. These types of pickles are called lacto-fermented pickles and don't use vinegar. Instead, they use brine (salt water). Lacto-fermented pickles take several months to ferment, but people who make them swear they're the best pickles possible.

2 Sources
Verywell Fit uses only high-quality sources, including peer-reviewed studies, to support the facts within our articles. Read our editorial process to learn more about how we fact-check and keep our content accurate, reliable, and trustworthy.
  1. U.S. Food and Drug Administration. Proposed rule for gluten-free labeling of fermented or hydrolyzed foods.

  2. Jones AL. The gluten-free diet: Fad or necessity?Diabetes Spectr. 2017;30(2):118-123. doi:10.2337/ds16-0022

Additional Reading

By Jane Anderson
Jane Anderson is a medical journalist and an expert in celiac disease, gluten sensitivity, and the gluten-free diet.