Gluten-Free Mustard List


Verywell / Alexandra Shytsman

It won't do you any good to carefully source gluten-free hot dogs if the mustard you're putting on your dog isn't safe. Fortunately, decent gluten-free mustard choices abound for those of us following the gluten-free diet. They range from basic yellow mustard to more exotic varieties such as honey mustard and Dijon mustard.

Many popular mustard brands in the U.S. have gluten-free options. This includes mustard from French's, Heinz, and Koops' Mustard. In addition, organic and gourmet brands such as Annie's Naturals, Boar's Head, and OrganicVille also offer gluten-free mustard.

Gluten-Free Mustard Options

Here's the list of major mustards and mustard brands sold in the U.S., along with their gluten-free status and vinegar sources, where available:

Annie's Naturals

Annie's Organic Honey Mustard, Organic Yellow Mustard, Organic Dijon Mustard, and Organic Horseradish Mustard all are considered gluten-free to below 20 parts per million of gluten. Annie's uses distilled white vinegar that's derived from corn or beets, not wheat, according to a customer service representative.

Boar's Head

This brand, best known for its high-end, gluten-free cold cuts, also offers a range of mustards, including Delicatessen-Style Mustard, Honey Mustard, and the lower-sodium Yellow Mustard. All are gluten-free to less than 20 parts per million, according to the company.


French's is one of the more popular brands of mustard in the U.S. In its gluten-free statement, the umbrella company, McCormick & Company, says, "Because we are constantly improving our products, we do not offer a list of our products that do not currently contain glutens. We encourage you to read the ingredient statement on your package at the time of purchase to ensure accurate, up to date information."

Gluten ingredients such as wheat or rye will always be listed in the ingredients section. If a certain product line does not have gluten, it will say "gluten-free" on the bottle. As of 2021, gluten-free options include Classic Yellow Mustard, Chardonnay Dijon Mustard, and Spicy Brown Mustard.

Grey Poupon

This upscale mustard is produced by a subsidiary of Kraft Foods, which will disclose all gluten-containing ingredients on food labels. Grey Poupon doesn't contain any gluten ingredients. That being said, Grey Poupon also isn't labeled gluten-free, so it may, in fact, be subject to gluten cross-contamination during manufacturing.


Gulden's, a subsidiary of ConAgra Brands, makes Spicy Brown Mustard, Bold Yellow Mustard, Sriracha Mustard, Stone Ground Dijon Mustard, and Honey Mustard. Like Kraft, ConAgra maintains a policy of divulging gluten ingredients on its product labels.

Gulden's mustards don't contain gluten ingredients but aren't labeled gluten-free, so they may be subject to gluten cross-contamination. Vinegar in Gulden's products can be derived from corn or wheat, according to the company.


Heinz is another very popular brand in the U.S. It offers several "100% natural" mustard options, such as Spicy Brown Mustard and Honey Mustard. However, none of the mustard options have a gluten-free label. Although the mustards don't contain gluten-free ingredients, cross-contamination is still a possibility.

Koops' Mustard

Koops' makes fourteen different flavors of mustard, including Horseradish, Honey Dijon, and a flavor called Arizona Heat (which includes a blend of peppers). The company labels all its mustard products gluten-free.


Organicville makes organic Stone Ground Mustard, Yellow Mustard, and Dijon Mustard. The company is gluten-free certified by the Gluten-Free Certification Organization, which requires testing to below 10 parts per million of gluten.

Company founder Rachel Kruse reports that Organicville uses vinegar that's also certified organic to make its mustards, and the vinegar is derived from either corn or cane, not wheat.

A Word from Verywell

As you can see, you have plenty of options even if you're particularly sensitive to trace gluten—there's at least one family of mustards on the market that are certified gluten-free, meaning that the manufacturer has in place stricter protocols about preventing gluten cross-contamination.

It's worth noting that vinegar isn't always gluten-free. According to the National Celiac Association, flavored vinegars and malt vinegars (often made from barley or rye) can contain gluten. Distilled vinegar is typically safe for people with celiac disease and non-celiac gluten sensitivity, as the distillation process removes gluten.

Keep in mind that companies are not required to divulge the source of vinegar in condiments, even if that source is wheat (one of the top eight allergens). If there is available information on the source of vinegar in these mustards, it's listed above.

Once you've found mustard (or maybe several) you like, you're all set to make the perfect frankfurter—don't forget the gluten-free hot dog buns.

2 Sources
Verywell Fit uses only high-quality sources, including peer-reviewed studies, to support the facts within our articles. Read our editorial process to learn more about how we fact-check and keep our content accurate, reliable, and trustworthy.
  1. Gluten-Free Certification Organization. About us.

  2. National Celiac Association. Is vinegar gluten-free?

By Jane Anderson
Jane Anderson is a medical journalist and an expert in celiac disease, gluten sensitivity, and the gluten-free diet.