Gluten-Free Mayonnaise Brands

Classic mayo is gluten-free, but use caution if you are sensitive to soy

If you love to spread creamy mayonnaise on your sandwiches or use it as a base for a homemade salad dressing, you're in luck. You'll find an ample selection of gluten-free mayo brands on store shelves.

However, there are some caveats to remember before you stock up on your particular favorite. See below for a list of mayonnaise brands available in the U.S. and their gluten-free status.

Check Mayo Ingredients

Some brands of mayonnaise are specifically marked "gluten-free," meaning they meet the standard U.S. definition of containing less than 20 parts per million of gluten. Others, meanwhile, simply contain no gluten ingredients, which means they could still be subject to gluten cross-contamination.


Almost all the mayonnaise on the market contains soy in the form of soybean oil. Many people with celiac disease and non-celiac gluten sensitivity can't tolerate soy because soy is frequently cross-contaminated with gluten and is a top food allergen.

If this is a problem for you, look for soy-free mayonnaise; Spectrum Organics and Vegenaise offer soy-free mayonnaise products.


Even though distilled vinegar is considered legally gluten-free, some people still react to it when it's made from gluten grains. If you're one of those who react to gluten grain-derived vinegar, look for one of the mayonnaise brands that doesn't use gluten grain-based vinegar—there are several, including Best Foods/Hellman's and Heinz.

Best Foods/Hellman's Mayonnaise

Best Foods and Hellman's, owned by Unilever, are the same; Hellman's is sold east of the Rocky Mountains, while Best Foods is marketed in the western U.S. The company makes a variety of mayos and spreads.

Hellman's/Best Food Real Mayonnaise, Light Mayonnaise, Low-Fat Mayonnaise Dressing, Limited Edition Southwestern Ranch Reduced Fat Mayonnaise, and Tartar Sauce are marked gluten-free, while other flavors are not. Look for the words "gluten-free" in the ingredients panel to be sure. The company reports that its vinegar is derived from corn.

Blue Plate Mayonnaise

This regional mayonnaise brand boasts a dedicated following in the southern U.S. Blue Plate offers three different versions of mayo: Real Mayonnaise, Light Mayonnaise, and Light Mayonnaise with Olive Oil.

It also makes Blue Plate Sandwich Spread, made with relish and mayonnaise. All are marked gluten-free, but they contain distilled vinegar that can be sourced from gluten grains.

Remember that there is a risk of cross-contamination if someone in your household or at a restaurant uses a knife to spread mayo on gluten-containing bread and then puts that knife back in the mayo jar. A separate mayo jar or a squeeze bottle can help keep mayo safer.

Duke's Mayonnaise

This southern regional brand of mayonnaise advertises itself as "the only major mayonnaise on the market that contains no sugar." Dukes (a subsidiary of C.F. Sauer Co.) also considers the mayonnaise gluten-free.

Dukes' mayonnaise products contain cider vinegar and distilled vinegar; a customer service representative reports that the distilled vinegar is derived from corn.

Hain Mayonnaise

Hain Pure Foods, part of the Hain Celestial Group, makes several different mayonnaises from safflower and canola oils. None of them appear on Hain Celestial's gluten-free list or carry the company's red "GF" triangle symbol, so steer clear.

Heinz Mayonnaise

Heinz lists six mayonnaise products on its U.S. list of products with no gluten ingredients: Mayonnaise, Light Mayonnaise, Deli Mayonnaise-Moroccan, Deli Mayonnaise-Carmelized Onion, Deli Mayonnaise-Roast Garlic, and Deli Mayonnaise-Sun-Dried Tomato. Heinz reports that the distilled vinegar used in its condiments is derived from corn.

Hollywood Mayonnaise

This is another brand of mayonnaise from Hain Celestial. Like Hain Pure Foods' mayonnaise products, Hollywood products are not considered gluten-free.

Kraft Brand Mayonnaise and Miracle Whip

Kraft markets three different types of Miracle Whip — Original, Light, and Fat-Free. The company also makes a dozen or so mayonnaise products, including Real Mayo in full-fat, light, and fat-free versions, plus several "Sandwich Shop" flavored mayonnaise products in squeeze bottles.

Kraft Foods has a policy of disclosing any gluten-containing ingredients on the label. Therefore, if you don't see any prominent gluten-containing ingredients, the product doesn't contain any. However, that doesn't mean that it qualifies as "gluten-free" — it still could be subject to gluten cross-contamination in processing.

Some particularly sensitive people report problems with Miracle Whip, particularly with the Light and Fat-Free varieties. According to a customer service representative, the vinegar used in Kraft products can be sourced from any grain, including gluten grains.

Trader Joe's Mayonnaise

Trader Joe's markets three store-branded types of mayo: Organic, Real, and Reduced Fat. Only the Reduced Fat Mayo Dressing appears on the retailer's gluten-free list.

Spectrum Mayonnaise

Spectrum Organics markets canola-based and soy-based plain mayonnaise, plus various "artisan" flavored mayonnaise products. The company considers all gluten-free and feature labels with a "gluten-free" designation.

Spectrum reports that the vinegar in its mayonnaise products is derived from corn and the gluten grain rye and states that testing found no gluten in the alcohol used to make that vinegar. Nonetheless, if you're someone who reacts to gluten grain-based vinegar, use caution with Spectrum mayonnaise products.


Follow Your Heart, a vegan food company, makes Vegenaise in Original, Reduced Fat, Grapeseed Oil, Organic, and Soy-Free versions. It also makes a half-dozen flavored Vegenaise spreads.

According to the company, all Vegenaise products are gluten-free. The company states that the enzymes used to produce the brown rice syrup in the products are considered gluten-free (enzymes used to process brown rice often contain barley). In addition, the vinegar used is apple cider vinegar.

It's also pretty easy to make your own mayonnaise. Use safe ingredients, such as gluten-free mustard and white wine vinegar, and then spice it up however you wish.

A Word From Verywell

Although most mayonnaise brands are gluten-free, it's important to be aware of possible cross-contamination and other common allergens such as soy, which is a common ingredient in mayonnaise. Making your own mayonnaise can be a rewarding alternative if you want to be sure to avoid any issues.

2 Sources
Verywell Fit uses only high-quality sources, including peer-reviewed studies, to support the facts within our articles. Read our editorial process to learn more about how we fact-check and keep our content accurate, reliable, and trustworthy.
  1. Food and Drug Administration. Questions and Answers on the Gluten-Free Food Labeling Final Rule.

  2. Martelossi S, Ventura A, Perticarari S, Not T, Anibal J. Antibodies against milk and soy proteins in specific intolerances and celiac disease. Pediatr Med Chir. 1993;15(1):45-51.

By Jane Anderson
Jane Anderson is a medical journalist and an expert in celiac disease, gluten sensitivity, and the gluten-free diet.