Gluten-Free Matzo for Passover

Matzo, or unleavened bread, is an important part of the Passover ritual meal commemorating the escape by the Israelites from Egypt. They left so quickly, they didn't have time to allow their bread to rise.

To be kosher for the Passover ritual according to Jewish dietary laws matzo can only be made of either wheat, barley, spelt, rye, or oats. The dough must be baked within 18 minutes of adding water, or it will begin to rise.

Since wheat, barley, spelt, and rye all contain gluten, many gluten-free matzo products on the market are made with certified gluten-free oats. Most people with celiac disease or gluten sensitivity—but not all—can consume gluten-free oats. If you're not sure how you'll react to oats, only try a small amount at first.

For use outside of the Passover celebration, you can find gluten-free matzo products made with corn and soy instead of gluten-free oats, or you can make your own gluten-free matzo crackers. Here's what gluten-free matzo products are available online or in stores.


Verywell / Alexandra Shytsman


Kestenbaum's Gluten-Free Oat Matzos

Kestenbaum's Gluten-Free Oat Matzos are made under rabbinical supervision from certified gluten-free Scottish oats that are kosher for Passover. The company offers both handmade and machine-made oat matzos and uses a special process to cleanse the oat grains of bitterness during the milling process.

The matzos and gluten-free oat matzo meal are available by mail order,, and in a few stores in the U.S., especially in the New York metropolitan area.

If you want to purchase these for Passover, the company advises ordering early, since only a limited quantity is produced each year.


Lakewood Gluten-Free Matzos

Lakewood Matzo makes two kinds of gluten-free oat-based matzos from certified gluten-free oats in a completely gluten-free environment, according to the company. These products are kosher for Passover. Lakewood's handmade matzos duplicate the size, shape, and texture of the company's handmade gluten grain-based matzo products, while the machine-made matzos are a uniform square matzo product.

Both the handmade and the machine-made matzos consist of only certified gluten-free oat flour and water. Lakewood also offers a gluten-free oat-based matzo meal you can use in Passover recipes.

You can find them in some stores (see the list on the company's website) and by mail order (including Amazon).


Barkat Gluten-Free Matzos

Barkat, a gluten-free foods company based in the U.K., makes a gluten-free matzo cracker that's free from milk, eggs, nuts, and yeast (of course). The matzos include maize (corn) starch, soy bran, tapioca starch, sugar, salt, and palm oil. They are not kosher for Passover.

Barkat gluten-free matzo crackers are available by mail order in the U.S. from a few retailers, including Amazon.


Manischewitz Gluten-Free Matzo-Type Squares

Manischewitz makes gluten-free matzo-style squares in two flavors: plain, and garlic and rosemary. They are certified gluten-free and are made from potato flour, potato starch, potato flakes, tapioca starch, vinegar, egg yolk, palm oil, dates, honey, and salt. They are kosher for Passover.

They're available in stores and online at various retailers in the U.S.


Yehuda Gluten-Free Matzo-Style Squares

Kedem Food Products began importing Yehuda Gluten-Free Matzo-Style Squares from Israel in 2011, and was surprised by the demand — the product quickly sold out, and customers were left scrambling to find it.

Their products are kosher for Passover but are labeled as "Not for Sacramental Purposes." Because of the huge interest in the product, Kedem says it will ship the gluten-free matzos year-round. The company also has obtained gluten-free certification from the Gluten-Free Certification Organization (GFCO), which requires products to test below 20 parts per million of gluten.

Yehuda gluten-free matzo is available in lightly salted, onion, and fiber-enriched. They're available online from various outlets (including Amazon and Walmart).

6 Sources
Verywell Fit uses only high-quality sources, including peer-reviewed studies, to support the facts within our articles. Read our editorial process to learn more about how we fact-check and keep our content accurate, reliable, and trustworthy.
  1. Orthodox Union. What is Matzah?

  2. Orthodox Union. What is matzah?

  3. Celiac Disease Foundation. Gluten-free foods.

  4. Baked by Yael. Shmurah gluten-free oat matzah - hand.

  5. Lakewood Matzoh. Gluten free oat matzoh.

  6. Tablet. This matzo isn't a mistzvah.

By Jane Anderson
Jane Anderson is a medical journalist and an expert in celiac disease, gluten sensitivity, and the gluten-free diet.