Yummy Gluten-Free Kids' Cereals

Gluten-free children rejoice: There's an ever-widening range of choices in gluten-free kids' cereals.

Companies such as Nature's Path have produced gluten-free cereals for kids for the last several years, but mainstream cereal manufacturers are jumping on the gluten-free kids' cereal bandwagon, taking old favorites and removing the added gluten.

Gluten-free kids can still enjoy their old favorites, plus they can try some new gluten-free kids' cereals in chocolate, cinnamon, fruit and honey flavors. Some contain less added sugar than others, but most have enough sweetener to please a gluten-free kid with a sweet tooth.


EnviroKids Organic Cereals

boy eating cereal at table
Inti St Clair/Blend Images/Getty Images

EnviroKidz, a product group offered by Nature's Path Organic, offers nine different gluten-free kids' cereals: Jungle Munch, Chocolate Choco Chimps, Gorilla Munch, Koala Crisp, Leapin Lemurs, Amazon Frosted Flakes, Turtle Splash, Cheetah Chomps and Panda Puffs. None contain oats.

All EnviroKidz cereals come in colorful, animal-themed packages. They also contain whole grains with low sugar and minimal sodium added.

Nature's Path also makes Whole O's cereal, a corn- and rice-based cereal that might please a gluten-free kid who misses O-shaped cereals.


General Mills' Chex Cereals

Although most Chex cereals (nine in total) are gluten-free (don't buy Wheat Chex, since that's not gluten-free), two Chex cereals are most likely to please gluten-free kids: Chocolate Chex and Cinnamon Chex.

Both Chocolate Chex and Cinnamon Chex gluten-free kids' cereals are based on whole-grain rice, and each contains about 8 grams of sugar per serving.

Make sure you get a box with the "Gluten-Free" label. Although Chex has been gluten-free for a while now, you never know when a store may have some old, not-gluten-free stock lying around.


Post Cocoa Pebbles and Fruity Pebbles

Flintstones-themed Post Fruity Pebbles and Cocoa Pebbles have been delighting kids since the 1970s, and Post made some gluten-free kids happy when it removed the gluten from these rice-based cereals to create two more mainstream gluten-free kids' cereal options.

In its reformulation, Post also reduced the sugar in both cereals to 9 grams per serving. Make sure the box you buy features a big blue "Gluten-Free!" banner across the top front — Fruity and Cocoa Pebbles are the only two Pebbles cereals currently made gluten-free.



Cheerios now labels five of its cereals gluten-free, and of course, the little O-shaped cereal pieces are a perennial kids' favorite. (Be aware that kid-friendly Chocolate Cheerios and Fruity Cheerios are not labeled gluten-free.)

However, General Mills (Cheerios' manufacturer) has run into manufacturing problems with its gluten-free Cheerios that allowed wheat flour into its supply chain. This led to significant gluten cross-contamination in numerous boxes of Cheerios and wound up sickening numerous people who have celiac disease and non-celiac gluten sensitivity.

Although the company says it has corrected these deficiencies and put measures into place to prevent the problem from happening again, many experts in the gluten-free community don't recommend Cheerios for celiacs and gluten-sensitive people.

If you decide to try Cheerios anyway, be aware that they contain oats (some people with celiac or gluten sensitivity also can't tolerate oats). Go slowly, and watch carefully for any reaction before adding more Cheerios to your child's diet.

Was this page helpful?