6 Gluten-Free Ketchup Brands to Know


Verywell / Alexandra Shytsman

If you follow the gluten-free diet, you shouldn't simply grab any ketchup off the shelf and assume you'll be fine. Knowing if ketchup is gluten-free and what to check for is important.

Is Ketchup Gluten Free?

If you're gluten-free, a safe ketchup is fairly easy to find. Most ketchup sold in the U.S. is considered gluten-free to at least below 20 parts per million (ppm). However, there are a couple of exceptions to this rule. While gluten grain products are unlikely in ketchup, there are several that may be subject to gluten cross-contamination in processing. In addition, some who eat gluten-free may still experience a reaction to distilled vinegar that's made from gluten grains, even under 20 ppm.

In the U.S., companies are supposed to disclose vinegar made from wheat on their labels. However, this rule does not always apply to condiments. Therefore, some manufacturers may use vinegar distilled from wheat to make their ketchup without always disclosing it on their labels. But distilled white vinegar derived from wheat should still test below the 20 ppm limit.

Gluten-Free Status by Brand

This list of ketchups and their gluten-free status includes the source of the vinegar if it is available from the manufacturer. If you're one of those who reacts to vinegar distilled from gluten grains, you may want to stick with one of the brands that uses a non-gluten grain source for its vinegar. Here are the major brands of ketchup sold in the U.S., and their gluten-free information.

Annie's Organic Ketchup

Annie's, which makes a variety of products for the gluten-free market, tests its organic ketchup to 20 ppm. A company consumer representative says that Annie's products will disclose on their labels if they're made on shared equipment or in a shared facility with wheat, but not with barley or rye, and that the vinegar in the ketchup is derived from corn or beets, not wheat.

French's Ketchup

French's ketchup is gluten-free (to less than 20 ppm) and corn syrup-free, too. It also steers clear of preservatives and artificial colors and flavors. The vinegar used in French's condiment products may be derived from wheat.

The company's FAQ page says that the product is gluten-free: "Gluten and gluten products, when present, will always be declared on the product label by the common name of the gluten source such as “barley,” “wheat,” “rye,” “oats,” or “triticale.” It is important that you read the ingredient statement on your package at the time of purchase to ensure accurate, up to date information, as product formulas may change."

Heinz Ketchup

Heinz, which makes the most popular ketchup in the U.S., is considered gluten-free to 20 ppm. For those who are sensitive to vinegar made from gluten grains, a customer service representative from Heinz reports that its distilled vinegar is made from corn, not wheat, sources.

Hunt's Ketchup

Hunt's ketchup products are produced by Conagra Brands Inc., which has a policy of disclosing any gluten-containing ingredients specifically on the food's label. Conagra does not consider Hunt's ketchup to be gluten-free, since it is not labeled "gluten-free."

Instead, the company states that all varieties of Hunt's ketchup "do not contain added gluten," but aren't tested to see if they're legally gluten-free. In addition, the vinegar used to make Hunt's ketchup can be derived from gluten grains (primarily wheat).

Organicville Ketchup

Organicville makes organic products, including ketchup. Organicville's ketchup is labeled gluten-free, which means that it requires testing down to below 20 ppm. Company founder Rachel Kruse says that the vinegar used in Organicville ketchup and other products is certified gluten-free and is derived from either corn or cane.

Walden Farms Ketchup

Walden Farms specializes in "calorie-free" low-carb products that also are considered gluten-free to 20 ppm. According to the company's website, the ketchup contains "no calories, fat, carbs, gluten, or sugars of any kind." The company's ketchup is made with tomato paste plus a mix of two different vinegars (apple cider and white distilled), spices, xantham gum, and flavorings.

Sir Kensington's Ketchup

Sir Kensington's ketchup is made from crushed red tomatoes, a paste made from green and red tomatoes, cane sugar, water, onion, distilled while vinegar, and spices. The brand notes that its ketchup is gluten-free, non-GMO, and vegan certified.


Multiple grocery store chains produce their own store-brand ketchup, many of which actually are manufactured by outside companies. You'll need to ask your preferred supermarket whether its store brand ketchup is considered gluten-free. Fortunately, most stores have lists of gluten-free products. Be aware, though, that most of these are tested only to 20 ppm.

If you're particularly sensitive to trace gluten, you may want to consider looking for a ketchup that's certified gluten-free; there's at least one available.

A Word From Verywell

One final note: carefully choosing a gluten-free ketchup won't do you any good if that ketchup gets contaminated by a knife that's been used on gluten bread. Instead, buy squeeze bottles of ketchup and other condiments where available. Avoid cross-contamination by carefully setting up your shared kitchen.

2 Sources
Verywell Fit uses only high-quality sources, including peer-reviewed studies, to support the facts within our articles. Read our editorial process to learn more about how we fact-check and keep our content accurate, reliable, and trustworthy.
  1. National Library of Medicine. Gluten associated medical problems.

  2. U.S. Food and Drug Administration. Gluten and food labeling.

By Jane Anderson
Jane Anderson is a medical journalist and an expert in celiac disease, gluten sensitivity, and the gluten-free diet.