Which Bottled Iced Tea Brands Are Gluten-Free?

Six brands offer some gluten-free options

iced tea with mint
Amanda Greene / Getty Images

You'd think that iced tea—usually made up of tea and some sort of sweetener, possibly with some flavoring thrown in—would be a pretty safe drink, gluten-wise. It's true that plain tea leaves are gluten-free (assuming they haven't been subjected to gluten cross-contamination in harvesting and processing), which means plain unsweetened ice tea you make fresh from gluten-free tea bags and loose tea should be safe.

However, it gets more complicated when you consider bottled iced tea brands and iced tea mixes on the market, though, since they're processed products and almost always contain added ingredients such as sugar and other flavors. So which ones are considered gluten-free?

Fortunately, plenty of them are considered gluten-free to at least 20 parts per million, offering those of us who follow the gluten-free diet some additional beverage options.

Gluten-Free Iced Tea List

Okay, enough cautionary statements. Here's the list of gluten-free options in bottled iced teas and iced tea mixes:

  • AriZona iced teas and tea mixes. AriZona brand offers teas and juice blends in colorfully decorated bottles and cans, plus iced tea mixes. According to the company's Frequently Asked Questions, "all of our tea and juice beverages are gluten-free."
  • Gold Peak teas. Gold Peak, owned by the Coca-Cola Co., makes five different varieties of iced tea: Sweetened Iced Tea, Diet Iced Tea, Sweetened Green Iced Tea, Lemon Iced Tea, and Unsweetened Iced Tea. The only one of these that appear on Coca-Cola's U.S. gluten-free list is Gold Peak Unsweetened Tea.
  • Honest Tea. This independent brand (fully acquired by The Coca-Cola Co. in 2011) has made a name for itself by specializing in lower-calorie beverages sweetened with less sugar than typical bottled iced tea. All of its varieties are considered gluten-free, according to the company FAQ page.
  • Lipton bottled teas and iced tea mixes. Lipton makes a variety of different bottled iced teas and ice tea powdered mixes in different flavors. The company does not publish a gluten-free list and does not test for gluten. The Lipton FAQ page currently claims no ingredients in its products are derived from grains or flours associated with gluten sensitivity.
  • Nestea. Nestea, owned by Nestlé, markets bottled iced tea beverages and powdered iced tea mix. The company states that its instant iced tea mix is considered gluten-free. Nutrition facts and information for its bottled iced tea beverage flavors refer the reader back to the same information.
  • Republic of Tea. If you prefer unsweetened tea in a bottle, you may want to consider one of Republic of Tea's eight gourmet flavors. All are certified gluten-free by the Gluten-Free Certification Organization (GFCO), which requires products to test below 10 parts per million of gluten.
  • Snapple. This popular iced tea brand states that none of its products contain gluten.
  • SoBe iced teas. SoBe makes a line of exotic tea and fruit blends, including two that would qualify as bottled iced teas: SoBe Energize Green Tea and SoBe Lean Honey Green Tea. SoBe products are manufactured by Pepsi Co., which only discloses wheat, not all potential gluten sources (none are listed as containing wheat). To view the ingredients and learn more about other PepsiCo products, visit the Pepsi Co. Beverage Facts website.
  • Sweet Leaf Tea. Sweet Leaf, also owned by Nestlé, states on its website that all of its flavors are considered gluten-free.
  • Tazo bottled teas. The bottled Tazo teas you find in the store and in Starbucks actually are manufactured by Pepsi Co. under a licensing agreement Starbucks (the owner of Tazo) signed with Pepsi Co. and Unilever. As of one report in 2014, the Tazo Customer Care team reports they have removed the potential gluten from wheat and barley in all tea flavors.

A Word From Verywell

It's clear that most iced tea you'll find—but not all—is safe on the gluten-free diet.

A couple of cautions apply, though. First, this list only applies to beverages available in the U.S., and ingredients and gluten-free status frequently vary in other countries. In addition, ingredients in these products can (and do) change at any time. Although beverage companies are tending to remove gluten from products these days (as opposed to adding it), you should check labels every time you buy.

Finally, many of these products are manufactured in facilities or even on equipment that also processes gluten ingredients. Therefore, if you're particularly sensitive to trace gluten, you may react to some of these even though they meet the current "gluten-free" standard. Always drink with caution and listen to your body—it may be trying to tell you something.

Was this page helpful?
Article Sources
Verywell Fit uses only high-quality sources, including peer-reviewed studies, to support the facts within our articles. Read our editorial process to learn more about how we fact-check and keep our content accurate, reliable, and trustworthy.
  1. The Coca-Cola Co. USA. What products are gluten-free drinks? Atlanta, Ga.: The Coca-Cola Co. 2019

  2. Honest. FAQs. Atlanta, Ga.: Honest. The Coca-Cola Company 2020 https://www.honesttea.com/our-mission/faqs

  3. Lipton. How Can We Help You? Contact Us. FAQ. Unilever 2020

  4. Nestea. Frequently Asked Questions. About Products. Brands Within Reach LLC. 2018. NESTEA® and visual properties attached thereto are trademarks of Société des Produits Nestlé S.A. (Switzerland)

  5. PepsiCo. The Facts About Your Favorite Beverages (US). Choices. PepsiCo. Inc. 2020

  6. Celiac.com. Tazo Tea---all flavors gluten free. By jennavive00. November 11, 2014. Celiac.com 1995-2020 https://www.celiac.com/forums/topic/109994-tazo-tea-all-flavors-gluten-free

Additional Reading
  • Celiac Disease Foundation. Gluten-Free Foods. Woodland Hills, Calif.: Celiac Disease Foundation 2020 https://celiac.org/gluten-free-living/gluten-free-foods