The 7 Best Gluten-Free Ice Cream Brands of 2021, According to a Dietitian

We independently evaluate all recommended products and services. If you click on links we provide, we may receive compensation. Learn more.

Ice cream in a bowl

Verywell / Alexandra Shytsman

Whether you have Celiac Disease or gluten sensitivity, finding an ice cream you can enjoy safely can be difficult. While the basic ingredients of regular ice cream (including cream and/or milk and sugar) are not typically gluten-containing, there can be hidden sources of gluten in many ice cream products.

Some brands use wheat as a thickener, while others may produce their ice cream in facilities where wheat is processed, which can pose the risk of cross-contamination. Additionally, wide flavor varieties tend to have gluten in them, like Cookies & Cream, Cheesecake, Brownie Sundaes, and Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough.

There are very few brands that are 100% gluten-free, but many brands offer gluten-free flavors. The gluten-free standard the U.S. Food and Drug Administration sets is fewer than 20 parts per million of gluten. Some products are Certified Gluten-Free, which means they have been tested and verified to be under the FDA-standardized gluten threshold.

If you have Celiac Disease, it is best to choose Certified Gluten-Free products; however, some products without this certification may still be gluten-free. To help you find the best option, a registered dietitian from our Review Board reviewed the contents of this article for accuracy relating to understanding the labels on these products, dairy alternatives, and keeping the crunch in your dessert.

Here is the best gluten-free ice cream:

In This Article

Best Overall

365 by Whole Foods Market Organic Ice Cream, Chocolate

365 by Whole Foods Market Organic Ice Cream, Chocolate


If you are looking for a classic ice cream made with a dairy base of milk and cream, try 365 by Whole Foods Market Frozen Ice Cream. This product is both USDA Organic and Certified Gluten-Free and is flavored with dark chocolate, cocoa powder, and vanilla extract and sweetened with cane sugar. It also contains organic stabilizers, including guar gum and locust bean gum, which are considered GRAS (generally recognized as safe) by the FDA. 

Other USDA Organic and Certified Gluten-Free flavors from 365 include Coffee Chocolate Chip, Strawberry, Mint Chip, and Toffee Caramel Swirl. This brand also offers dairy-free, almond milk-based flavors that are Certified Gluten-Free. 

Best Budget-Friendly

Breyers Vanilla Chocolate Ice Cream

Breyers Vanilla Chocolate Ice Cream

Courtesy of Instacart

If you are looking for an affordable, traditional ice cream that is Certified Gluten-Free, try Breyers Ice Cream, Vanilla Chocolate, offering two classic flavors in one. This ice cream has a diary base of milk and cream, sweetened with sugar and flavored with cocoa and vanilla bean. The vanilla bean is Rainforest Alliance certified, which means it is sustainably sourced, considering social, economic, and environmental factors.

Breyers offers over 37 Certified Gluten-Free Flavors, including Strawberry, Mint Chocolate Chip, and Vanilla Caramel. Additionally, they offer no-sugar-added and dairy-free alternatives.

Best Chocolate

Arctic Zero Non-Dairy Desserts, Purely Chocolate

 Arctic Zero Non-Dairy Desserts, Purely Chocolate

Courtesy of Amazon

For a lower-calorie and lower-sugar ice cream alternative that is both dairy free and Certified Gluten-Free, try Arctic Zero Purely Chocolate. One ⅔ cup serving has just 50 calories and 8 grams of sugar. It is made with fava bean protein concentrate, purified water, organic cane sugar, monk fruit concentrate, and thickening gums (like guar gum).

All Arctic Zero Non-Dairy desserts except Cookie Dough Chunk and Brownie Blast are gluten-free. 

Best Vanilla

So Delicious Vanilla Bean Coconut Milk Ice Cream

So Delicious Dairy Free Vanilla Bean Coconutmilk

Courtesy of Instacart

For a Certified Gluten-Free coconut milk-based ice cream, try So Delicious Vanilla Coconut Milk Ice Cream, made with organic coconut milk, coconut oil, cane sugar, tapioca syrup, locust bean, guar gums, and vanilla bean. Due to the high percent saturation of coconut fats, coconut milk-based ice creams tend to have a slightly higher saturated fat content than regular ice cream. For reference, the AHA recommends consuming no more than 13 grams of saturated fat per day. 

So Delicious offers many Certified Gluten-Free and dairy-free ice cream flavors, including gluten-free Cookie Dough and gluten-free Cookies & Cream. In addition to coconut milk and coconut cream-based ice creams, they also offer other dairy-free alternatives made with almond, cashew, oat, or soy milk.

Best Inventive Flavors

Talenti Gelato Hazelnut Chocolate Chip

Talenti Gelato Hazelnut Chocolate Chip

Courtesy of Instacart

If you are looking to expand your palate and test out new flavors, try Talenti. Talenti is technically gelato, similar to ice cream but differs in composition and texture. Gelato is typically made with less cream and more milk, and it also contains less air which yields a creamier and denser texture. 

Talenti offers diverse flavors to satisfy any sweet craving, including 24 gluten-free flavors. Some gluten-free varieties are also dairy-free sorbets ranging from Chocolate and Coffee to more fruit-forward flavors like Roman Raspberry and Strawberry Hibiscus. 

Best Dairy-Free & Gluten-Free

Luna & Larry's Madagascan Vanilla Bean, Coconut Bliss

Luna & Larry's, Coconut Bliss, Madagascan Vanilla Bean

Courtesy of Instacart

For a dairy-free and Certified Gluten-Free ice cream option that is also USDA Organic, try Luna & Larry's, Coconut Bliss, and Vanilla Island. The short ingredient list is a bonus, made with coconut milk, coconut syrup, coconut cream, vanilla extract, and vanilla bean. Like other coconut cream-based products, this ice cream has higher concentrations of saturated fat, which should be consumed in moderation. 

Each pint of Coconut Bliss is organic, gluten-free, non-GMO, and vegan. All 11 of their ice cream pint flavors are Certified Gluten-Free, including their Legendary Cookie Dough flavor, which is made with gluten-free oat flour. 

Best Bar

Yasso Frozen Yogurt Greek Bars, Chocolate Fudge

Yasso Chocolate Fudge Frozen Greek Yogurt Bars

Courtesy of Giant

Try Yasso Frozen Greek Yogurt Bar and Chocolate Fudge for a lighter twist on a gluten-free ice cream bar. Made with frozen, non-fat Greek yogurt, each bar contains 80 calories, 0 grams of fat, 12 grams of sugar, and 6 grams of protein. You’ll also get a boost of probiotics from the Greek yogurt live cultures.

Yasso offers 10 gluten-free yogurt bar flavors ranging from Black Raspberry Chip to Chocolate Peanut Butter Cup. While they mark their 10 gluten-free flavors, they are not Certified Gluten-Free and are processed in a facility that uses soy, tree nuts, eggs, peanuts, and wheat.

Final Verdict

If you are looking for a classic, diary-based ice cream that is Certified Gluten-Free and USDA Organic, try 365 by Whole Foods Market, Frozen Ice Cream, Chocolate (view at Amazon). Go with Luna & Larry's, Coconut Bliss, Vanilla Island Organic (view at Instacart) for a diary-free and Certified Gluten-Free alternative. 

What to Look for in Gluten-Free Ice Cream

Below are things to look for when choosing a gluten-free ice cream, which starts with carefully reading the labels.


Read the nutrition labels carefully to identify gluten-containing ingredients, including wheat, flour, barley, oats, rye, and malt. Products with the Gluten-Free Certified logo are tested and verified as less than 20 parts per million of gluten, the FDA standard.

If you have a high sensitivity to gluten or have Celiac Disease, it is best to choose products not made in facilities that process wheat. Read the nutrition labels carefully to identify gluten-containing ingredients (including wheat, flour, barley, oats, rye, and malt), and don’t hesitate to reach out to brands for more information on allergen contents. 

Dairy vs Non-Dairy:

There are many dairy-free alternatives to regular ice cream made with almond, coconut, cashew, and oat milk bases. Choose a product that best suits your taste buds and tolerance levels. If you avoid dairy and have a nut allergy, try a coconut or oat milk variety.

Customer Reviews

If you are able, look up the brands you are interested in trying to see if any customer reviews are available. You can check for the top flavors from other ice-cream lovers that require gluten-free ice cream to see what appeals to you while still commanding high praise from the public. After all, ice cream is a treat to be enjoyed and taste is paramount.


How can I be 100% sure an ice cream product is gluten-free?

Look for the Certified Gluten-Free logo, and read the nutrition labels carefully to identify gluten ingredients (wheat, flour, barley, oats, rye, and malt). You can also go to the brand websites for more information on ingredients, processing practices, and allergen information. If you are unsure if the product contains gluten or could be exposed to cross-contamination, contact the brand directly for more details. 

What are some good options for gluten-free ice cream cones?

If you're looking for a classic cone, try Joy Gluten-Free Ice Cream Cups (view at Amazon), and for a sugar cone style, try Let's Do Gluten-Free Sugar Cones (view at Amazon). You can also add crunch to your cup without the gluten by sprinkling your ice cream with nuts or cacao nibs.

Why Trust Verywell Fit?

As a Registered Dietitian, Anne Carroll uses her clinical expertise to cut through marketing claims and get down to the science. These are all products she has researched, vetted, and would recommend to her clients in private practice and incorporate into her diet.

Verywell Fit uses only high-quality sources, including peer-reviewed studies, to support the facts within our articles. Read our editorial process to learn more about how we fact-check and keep our content accurate, reliable, and trustworthy.