Gluten-Free Chewing Gum List

friends chewing gluten-free gum
Betsie Van Der Meer / Getty Images

If you enjoy chewing gum and you follow the gluten-free diet, it's important to find gluten-free gum to chew. Yes, it's true that you don't actually swallow the gum (usually, anyway), but you will swallow enough of the juices and flavoring to give yourself a reaction if it's not gluten-free.

Fortunately, there are numerous choices in gluten-free gum for people with celiac disease and non-celiac gluten sensitivity. 

Is Gum Gluten Free?

In short, it depends on the manufacturer. Trident, Wrigley, Glee Gum, and Simply Gum are all brands that are labeled gluten free, which means the products are considered gluten-free to less than 20 parts per million, or ppm (smaller numbers being better). However, just because a product can be considered "gluten-free" to 20ppm, that doesn't mean it's definitely safe for you.

People have different tolerance levels for trace gluten (gluten below 20ppm). Many people with gluten allergies react to products labeled "gluten-free." Additionally, the list only applies to products in the U.S., as formulations will vary in other countries.

You don't need to worry about the white powder you'll often find on your gum containing gluten (assuming that the manufacturer states that the gum in question is gluten-free). This residue is usually just powdered sugar or a sugar substitute that's added to keep the gum from sticking to the wrapper. 

Gluten-Free Gum Manufacturers

Here's the list of gluten-free gum products, followed by those that are not gluten-free. They're grouped in alphabetical order by manufacturer.

Glee Gum

Billed as "all-natural chewing gum made with sustainably harvested rainforest chicle" and "the #1 healthy alternative to synthetic chewing gum and bubble gum," Glee comes in Classic and Sugar-Free (sweetened with sugar alcohol xylitol) flavors.

The gums do not contain gluten, and are "safe for people with celiac disease and any other wheat and gluten intolerances," according to Glee Gum's frequently asked questions.

All flavors also are soy-free, although the manufacturer reports that soy is used in the same facility.

Simply Gum

This brand of gum uses all-natural ingredients to make its chewing gum (Simply Gum also makes mints). Simply Gum uses natural chicle, which is the sap from the sapodilla, or gum, tree, to make its gum chewy.

Other ingredients include organic raw cane sugar, organic vegetable glycerin, organic rice flour, and natural flavor.

The gum comes in cinnamon, fennel, mint, ginger, coffee, and maple flavors, and is considered to be gluten-free, non-GMO, vegan, and kosher. 


None of Trident's products contain gluten, according to the company's gluten-free statement. They're also all sugar-free.

Trident Gum makes multiple flavors of gum in the following product lines:

  • Trident
  • Layers
  • Vitality
  • Xtra Care
  • White
  • Splash


One of the premier U.S. gum manufacturers, Wrigley's gluten-free gum offerings include all of the following:

  • 5-Gum
  • Big Red
  • Doublemint
  • Eclipse
  • Extra
  • Freedent
  • Juicy Fruit
  • Orbit
  • Spearmint
  • Winterfresh

Several Wrigley products are NOT gluten-free, including Altoids and Smalls Peppermint Mints (which contain wheat-based maltodextrin), and Lucas and Skwinkles Branded Candy Strips (which contain wheat flour and wheat fiber).

In both cases, the wheat-based ingredients are called out in the ingredients lists on the product label.

Gum Brands That Are Not Gluten-Free

Farley's and Smathers

This company makes Fruit Stripe and Super Bubble gum. Farley's and Smathers does not maintain a gluten-free list and only will disclose wheat-containing ingredients on its labels (U.S. labeling laws do not require disclosure of all gluten ingredients, only wheat).

Therefore, Farley's and Smathers products are not recommended for those following a gluten-free diet.


Hershey's, a top candy bar manufacturer, also produces Bubble Yum gum and Icebreakers.

However, neither of those products appear on Hershey's gluten-free list, so you might want to steer clear of them.

Mondelēz International, Inc

This company, based in New Jersey, makes the following brands of gum:

  • Bubbaloo
  • Bubbilicious
  • Chiclets
  • Dentyne
  • Nostalgia Gum
  • Stride

Mondelēz International does not test for gluten, according to a customer service representative. The company will identify any wheat, barley, rye, or oat ingredients on the label.

However, the company cannot guarantee its products are gluten-free because its suppliers may not provide gluten-free ingredients, the rep said.

Therefore, Mondelēz International does not recommend its products for those on a strict gluten-free diet, she said.

A Word from Verywell

As you can see, there are more than a few choices of gluten-free gum, including sugar-free, teeth-whitening, and all-natural varieties. If you just avoid the ones that aren't considered gluten-free, you can chew to your heart's content.

2 Sources
Verywell Fit uses only high-quality sources, including peer-reviewed studies, to support the facts within our articles. Read our editorial process to learn more about how we fact-check and keep our content accurate, reliable, and trustworthy.
  1. Gluten-Free Foods. Celiac Disease Foundation.

  2. USDA. 'Gluten-Free' Means What It Says.

Additional Reading
  • Celiac Disease Foundation. What Should I Eat? Fact Sheet.

By Jane Anderson
Jane Anderson is a medical journalist and an expert in celiac disease, gluten sensitivity, and the gluten-free diet.