Diets Gluten-Free Gluten-Free Food List: Learn Exactly What to Eat Gluten-Free Fruits, vegetables, meats, dairy and many grains all are safe By Jane Anderson Jane Anderson Facebook Twitter Jane Anderson is a medical journalist and an expert in celiac disease, gluten sensitivity, and the gluten-free diet. Learn about our editorial process Updated on October 09, 2021 Medically reviewed Verywell Fit articles are reviewed by board-certified physicians and nutrition and exercise healthcare professionals. Medical Reviewers confirm the content is thorough and accurate, reflecting the latest evidence-based research. Content is reviewed before publication and upon substantial updates. Learn more. by Melissa Rifkin, MS, RD, CDN Medically reviewed by Melissa Rifkin, MS, RD, CDN Melissa Rifkin is a Connecticut-based registered dietitian with over 15 years of experience working in the clinical setting. Learn about our Medical Review Board Fact checked Verywell Fit content is rigorously reviewed by a team of qualified and experienced fact checkers. Fact checkers review articles for factual accuracy, relevance, and timeliness. We rely on the most current and reputable sources, which are cited in the text and listed at the bottom of each article. Content is fact checked after it has been edited and before publication. Learn more. by Elaine Hinzey, RD Fact checked by Elaine Hinzey, RD LinkedIn Elaine Hinzey is a registered dietitian, writer, and fact-checker with nearly two decades of experience in educating clients and other healthcare professionals. Learn about our editorial process Print Are you wondering which foods are gluten-free and which are not? That's no surprise—the gluten-free diet is tricky, and gluten can hide in some very unexpected places. If you're just starting out on the diet, it's understandable to feel confused and even bewildered by food labels and ingredients lists. Of course, there will be lots of foods that are off-limits on the gluten-free diet. However, there are also plenty of foods you can eat. Best Gluten-Free Meal Delivery Services The following list is broken down into eight categories: fruits and vegetables, meat, milk and dairy products, breads and snacks, dry goods and mixes, condiments, prepared foods and beverages. It will explain what you need to know to choose safe products in each category, and provide you with suggested safe brands and products. At the end, you'll also find a summary of the list that you can print out and take to the grocery store. Read through the explanations first, so that you have a firm idea of what to buy and what to avoid. Otherwise, it's very easy to make a mistake. But don't feel like you need to master all of this overnight. There's too much involved and too steep a learning curve. Shopping for gluten-free food eventually will become second nature to you, and you'll know exactly which products to purchase without needing to refer to a list. Gluten-Free Fruit and Vegetables Verywell / Alexandra Shytsman If you love fresh fruits and vegetables, you're in luck: With very few exceptions, they're all gluten-free. Indulge all you wish in the berries, fruits, greens and vegetables you find in the fresh produce section of your grocery store. There are, however, a couple of places where even products sold in the produce section can gluten you. For example, jars of processed fruit contain other ingredients you'll need to check. Most of it is gluten-free, but occasionally you'll run across something suspect. In addition, many stores sell cut-up fruit in containers. Before purchasing this fruit, double-check on where workers prepare it—a few stores use the deli counter for this, which means the fruit is at risk for cross-contamination from the sandwiches and other products made there. Fortunately, this isn't a problem at most stores. Finally, if you're very sensitive to trace gluten, you could find that certain fresh fruits and vegetables seem to cause symptoms. You're not imagining things—the problem is gluten cross-contamination at the farm itself. Gluten-Free Canned and Frozen Fruits and Vegetables Most canned fruits and vegetables are considered gluten-free, but some are not. And the more ingredients, the riskier the product. You'll also need to read labels or contact the manufacturer to determine if a particular product is processed in a shared facility or on manufacturing lines shared with gluten-containing products. Single-ingredient frozen fruits and vegetables (e.g., frozen peas or frozen green beans) generally are safe, but you should read labels or contact the manufacturer with questions about the potential for gluten cross-contamination during processing. Frozen fruits and vegetables with multiple ingredients (e.g., prepared side dishes) may or may not be safe—many contain gluten ingredients. You'll need to contact the manufacturer to be sure. Gluten-Free Meat, Poultry, and Fish Verywell / Alexandra Shytsman Like fresh fruits and vegetables, fresh meat and fish generally are safe on the gluten-free diet. This includes fresh cuts of beef, pork, lamb, chicken, turkey and fish at your local grocery store or butcher. Beware of meats and poultry with added ingredients that make them into ready-to-cook or ready-to-eat dishes—most of these are not safe to consume on the diet, since the store might use unsafe sauces or even bread crumbs. Some chickens and turkeys include a broth or liquid (intended to "plump" them) that may or may not be safe. The label must disclose the presence of this broth, so you'll need to contact the manufacturer to determine if it contains gluten or not. Your best bet is to choose poultry that isn't packed with a broth or additional liquid. Also avoid choosing unwrapped meat or fish on display in refrigerator cases, since the display case may also contain foods with bread crumbs and other gluten ingredients. The cases contain fans to move the air around, and these fans can blow loose crumbs onto unwrapped items. When in doubt, pick something pre-packaged. Gluten-Free Ham, Hot Dogs, Sausage, and Other Meat Products Verywell / Claire Cohen There are plenty of hams that are considered gluten-free to the U.S. Food and Drug Administration's (FDA) definition of 20 parts per million. But only some seem to be specifically labeled "gluten-free." Many hot dogs also are gluten-free to 20 ppm, and some—like Applegate Farms' hot dogs—actually carry a gluten-free label. Applegate Farms and other manufacturers also make gluten-free bacon. Be extra careful with sausage. Many sausages contain bread crumbs as a filler, so check labels carefully. Even if the sausage you're considering doesn't include a gluten ingredient, it may have been manufactured on equipment that also processes gluten-containing sausage, so ask about that. There are some gluten-free sausage brands out there. There are plenty of gluten-free deli meats on the market: Hormel and Hillshire Farms both make packaged gluten-free meats, and all Boar's Head products are gluten-free. However, you'll need to beware of cross-contamination that can stem from shared slicing machines at the deli counter. Stick with pre-packaged meats instead of having the product sliced behind the counter. Gluten-Free Milk and Dairy Products Verywell / Alexandra Shytsman Most milk and many dairy-based products are gluten-free, but as always, there are exceptions. Plain milk—regardless of whether it's regular, skim or even heavy cream—is gluten-free. Flavored milks may not be safe, and you'll need to check ingredients to make sure. Malted milk products, including malted milkshakes, are not safe, since malt is made with barley. Plain yogurt, such as the Chobani and Fage brands, is safe. Many—but not all—flavored yogurts also are gluten-free. You'll need to check ingredients to be sure. Some yogurts come with cookies and granola, and you should avoid those. The refrigerator case at the supermarket also carries eggs, which are gluten-free, butter, which is gluten-free, and margarine, most of which is gluten-free (always check the ingredients on margarine and shortening). You'll also find products such as Kozy Shack tapioca pudding, which is labeled gluten-free. Some milk substitute products (such as soy milk and almond milk) are gluten-free, and some are not. Be particularly careful of gluten-free-labeled Rice Dream rice milk (found in the dry-goods section of the supermarket, not the dairy section), as it's processed with barley enzymes and many people report reacting to it, even though testing conducted by the Food Allergy Research and Resource Program determined that it is gluten free (defined as less than 20 parts per million of gluten). Gluten-Free Cheese and Ice Cream When purchasing cheese, most options should be safe. However, watch out for "beer-washed" cheeses. In addition, a few manufacturers use wheat as a catalyst when making bleu cheese, so you'll need to contact the specific maker to determine if a particular bleu cheese is safe or not (this tends to be a problem only for those who are particularly sensitive to trace gluten). Lastly, beware of cheese that's been cut up and repackaged at the individual grocery store. In many cases, this repackaging takes place in the deli section on the same cutting boards where the staff makes sandwiches. Look instead for cheese that was packaged at the manufacturer—you may have to purchase more of it than you'd like, but cheese freezes well. In the case of gluten-free ice cream, beware of ice creams that contain chunks of cookies, dough or an unsafe candy. Check the ingredients and avoid anything with a gluten-sounding name like "Cookies and Cream" or "Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough" unless it's specifically labeled gluten-free. Obviously, ice cream sandwiches are out unless you can find some that are specifically labeled gluten-free. But you can buy frozen fruit pops and other ice cream treats that are gluten-free. Gluten-Free Breads, Snacks, Cereals, and Pasta Verywell / Alexandra Shytsman When it comes to bread, you have no choice but to choose from among the various gluten-free bread brands. Fortunately, many grocery stores these days carry frozen gluten-free bread, and you can order online to get your particular favorite. Occasionally, people with celiac disease and gluten sensitivity will say they can eat breads with ingredients such as sprouted wheat or Einkorn wheat (an ancient form of wheat). Don't believe them. If the ingredients on the bread include wheat, do not buy that bread—it's extremely likely to make you sick. Gluten-Free Baked Snacks If you're looking for baked snacks like cookies or cakes that normally would contain wheat, you'll obviously have to stick to gluten-free labeled items. Again, most stores carry at least a handful of gluten-free cookies and may even carry such products as gluten-free bagels and gluten-free frozen waffles in their freezer sections. Also, there's now a wide variety of gluten-free pretzels available for snacking, along with many different energy bars that are labeled gluten-free. Several manufacturers, including Kettle brand, make gluten-free potato chips and label them as such. You'll also find many brands of gluten-free corn chips—look for those specifically labeled gluten-free. If you want something sweet, multiple candies are considered gluten-free to 20 parts per million. See the list of gluten-free candy for those considered safe. Gluten-Free Cereal and Pasta You've got multiple choices when it comes to gluten-free cereal: many major brands now are making some favorites, such as General Mills' Chex, gluten-free. As with breads and snacks, don't buy a cereal unless it's specifically marked gluten-free. The same goes for pasta—if it's not labeled gluten-free, don't buy it. Fortunately, there are plenty of gluten-free pasta options available, in sizes and shapes ranging from fettuccine to linguine. You can choose pasta made from corn, rice or more unusual gluten-free grains, such as quinoa. Many people have a favorite brand (you'll need to do some experimenting to discover your own), and it's possible to create pasta dishes that taste just like the gluten originals. Gluten-Free Prepared Foods: Frozen Foods, Soup, and More Lora Wiley-Lennartz If you're looking for a gluten-free frozen dinner, you'll almost certainly find one in your local supermarket that's marked specifically gluten-free—Glutino makes some prepared meals, as do Amy's Kitchen and Saffron Road, among many other manufacturers. Don't purchase a frozen meal unless it's specifically marked "gluten-free," since most of those that aren't labeled do contain gluten ingredients. You also may be able to find some prepared foods in the dry-goods section of the supermarket that are marked gluten-free—for example, pre-made Indian or Thai dishes in the ethnic foods section of the store. Thai Kitchen is one brand that makes some gluten-free dishes. Lotus makes several different gluten-free ramen noodles in several different flavors. Pizza fans have plenty of gluten-free frozen pizza options, including vegan products and some that are gluten-free and casein-free. Many grocery stores stock at least one or two of these. They may be in the natural foods freezer section, or the regular frozen pizza aisle. Canned Soups People new to the gluten-free diet often are surprised to learn that traditional flavors of canned soups frequently contain gluten—flour is used as a thickener, especially in cream soups. However, it's possible to find some canned soups that are gluten-free. Progresso makes some gluten-free soups, as does Pacific Natural Foods (which packages its soups in boxes, not cans). Some gourmet soup manufacturers, such as Bookbinders Specialties, also make some gluten-free soup options, but you'll have to read labels and possibly make some calls to determine what's safe and what's not. Gluten-Free Dry Goods: Baking Mixes and Supplies Verywell / Alexandra Shytsman It's possible these days to purchase mixes for almost any baked product you want. There are gluten-free bread mixes, gluten-free muffin mixes, gluten-free pizza crust mixes, gluten-free cake mixes, gluten-free cookie mixes—you name it. Be sure to buy only products marked "gluten-free." Otherwise, you'll almost certainly be purchasing something with gluten in it. Baking Supplies To bake, you frequently need ingredients other than a gluten-free mix—and of course, some people want to bake from scratch, without a mix. It's possible to find gluten-free flour blends you can use for your baking projects, or you can use individual gluten-free flours. For example, Bisquick now produces a gluten-free baking mix. Companies such as Bob's Red Mill and Arrowhead Mills also package gluten-free flour products. Choose only those labeled "gluten-free"—gluten contamination of flour products can be very bad, and you'll be safest sticking with brands that meet the FDA's gluten-free labeling requirements. Ingredients such as corn starch, yeast, baking powder, and baking soda generally are gluten-free, but it doesn't hurt to check on specific manufacturers' products before you buy. The same rule applies to cocoa, baking chocolate and other flavorings—many are gluten-free, but double-check. Domino Pure Cane Sugar, in the familiar yellow, navy and white package, is safe. Gluten-Free Condiments: Oils, Sauces, Salad Dressing, and Spices Verywell / Alexandra Shytsman Buying gluten-free sauces and condiments can be tricky—many of these products contain gluten ingredients. In other cases, products you wouldn't think to suspect, such as soy sauce, actually are made primarily of wheat. Therefore, buyer beware when you're shopping for condiments and sauces. In some cases, you'll find products labeled "gluten-free." But you'll still need to contact the manufacturer to determine if something is gluten-free or not. You shouldn't have too much trouble finding a gluten-free tomato sauce to go with your gluten-free pasta; several brands, including Del Monte and Classico, offer options. In addition, Emeril's and Hidden Valley Ranch both offer gluten-free salad dressing products, although you need to check ingredients on each package to be certain you're choosing a safe flavor. There are several gluten-free varieties of ketchup. French's yellow mustard is listed as gluten-free, as are many other mustards. The same goes for hot sauce: there are multiple gluten-free hot sauces on the market. If you need gluten-free soy sauce, look for either Kikkoman or San-J tamari-style soy sauces, which are gluten-free at least to the FDA's proposed 20 parts per million standard, and will be marked as such. There's one caution for those who are super-sensitive to gluten or who react to gluten-based vinegars: Almost all of these condiment products contain vinegar of some sort. Some of it is apple cider vinegar, which should be safe enough for most people, but some of it may be grain vinegar—you'll need to check labels to be sure. Gluten-Free Oils and Spices Most oils, including olive oil, corn oil, canola oil and other specialty oils, are considered gluten-free. However, it's possible to run across gluten in some specialty oils. Your best bet is to stick with plain oils, and flavor them yourself if you want variety. That brings us to spices. Fresh herbs and spices you can purchase in the produce section of the grocery store are perfectly safe. If you prefer dried spices, some companies produce reliably gluten-free spices, while for other companies, gluten cross-contamination are a problem (some manufacturers use gluten as an ingredient in some spice mixes). Plain salt and pepper should be gluten-free, but watch out for trendy flavored salts. A few contain gluten (sometimes in the form of smoke flavoring, which is made with barley). Gluten-Free Drinks: Coffee, Tea, Sodas, Fruit Drinks, and Alcohol Verywell / Alexandra Shytsman Many of the most popular sodas are considered gluten-free to 20 parts per million, including long lists from Coca-Cola and PepsiCo. Fruit juices also are gluten-free providing they're made with 100% real fruit. Therefore, orange juices and other citrus juices you find in the dairy section should be safe (although some sensitive people report reacting to some orange juices). Fruit drinks, on the other hand, aren't made completely with fruit, and may possibly contain some gluten ingredients. Although the vast majority are safe, you'll need to check with the manufacturer before purchasing to be certain whether they're safe or not. Smoothies sold in the fruit juice section sometimes contain problematic ingredients like wheat grass or barley grass, so you'll need to check labels and only buy smoothies that are labeled gluten-free. Most tea is gluten-free, even flavored teas. However, a few do contain gluten ingredients, so check the list to be certain. Unflavored coffee is fine, but flavored coffees may not be gluten-free. Finally, some blended coffee drinks are safe and some are not, so again, you'll need to check the ingredients. Gluten-Free Alcoholic Beverages If you're shopping for beer, you need to stick with gluten-free beer; other beers contain barley, which is a gluten grain and therefore unsafe on a gluten-free diet. Wine should be safe (unless you're particularly sensitive). All distilled liquor is gluten free, even if it is made from wheat, barley, or rye. Some people report reactions to alcohol made from gluten grains. You'll need to make sure any mixers you use for your drinks are gluten-free... some aren't. Gluten-Free Food List, Summarized If you want a handy guide to take with you to the grocery store, this list of gluten-free foods can serve as a guide to what you should—and shouldn't—add to your cart. Fruits and Vegetables All fresh fruits and vegetables—those that are sold loose in the produce section of the grocery store—should be safely gluten-free.Watch out for pre-packaged fruit and vegetable products with more than one ingredient (including frozen and canned goods), which may contain gluten or be subject to cross-contamination in processing. On those, make sure to check labels for gluten-containing ingredients or for warnings that the product was processed in a shared facility. Meats and Fish Fresh meats, poultry, and fish with no added ingredients are safe if they're kept away from gluten cross-contamination at the store (this type of gluten exposure can occur when fresh plain products are displayed next to breaded products in a glass display case, for example).Watch out for pre-packaged products, such as hams, bacon, sausages and lunch meats, since they may or may not contain gluten.Multiple manufacturers label their processed meat products gluten-free, so stick with those for the best results. Milk and Dairy Products Fresh plain milk, butter, plain yogurt, fresh eggs and many cheeses are gluten-free.Some other products found in the dairy section, such as flavored yogurts, cottage cheese or puddings, may be labeled gluten-free.You can't count on ice cream to be gluten-free, even if it doesn't contain obvious gluten ingredients (chocolate chip cookie dough, for example). Stick with a brand such as Breyer's that labels its products "gluten-free." Breads, Snacks, Cereals, Cakes and Pastas Almost anything you buy in these categories should be specifically labeled "gluten-free," including cereals, breads, and snack foods.Most grocery stores carry a few of these gluten-free staples, and some—like Whole Foods and Fresh Market— may boast a wider selection. But you may find the best selection online. Prepared Foods Only buy frozen dinners or frozen pizzas specifically marked "gluten-free"—some larger supermarkets carry a nice selection. Many canned soups contain gluten, so check the ingredients and stick with those that are labeled "gluten-free."Ethnic food sections in supermarkets frequently contain some prepared foods that are gluten-free. Look for Thai and Indian dishes that are marked "gluten-free." Baking Mixes and Supplies Any baking mix you purchase should be specifically labeled "gluten-free." Remember that white flour (the primary ingredient in most mainstream mixes) is made from wheat, which is one of the three gluten grains.When you're purchasing alternative grain flours like buckwheat (which is gluten-free), soy and rice flour, make sure they're specifically labeled gluten-free (some are not safe).Many baking supplies, such as baking soda, sugar and cocoa, are considered gluten-free, but you always should check ingredients to make certain. Condiments, Sauces and Spices Many products in this category contain gluten ingredients, and even single-ingredient products like spices can be subject to significant gluten cross-contamination. For spices, Spicely is certified gluten-free, and McCormick's will clearly label any gluten-containing ingredients, but does not test for cross-contamination. Heinz ketchup and French's yellow mustard are considered gluten-free, as are some popular salsa brands. Salad dressing can contain gluten ingredients, although many do not. Organicville salad dressings are certified gluten-free.Don't buy soy sauce unless it's specifically labeled "gluten-free." Coffee, Tea, Soda, Fruit Drinks and Alcohol Unflavored coffee and plain black or green tea should be gluten-free, but flavored varieties may not be—stick with those labeled "gluten-free" to be safe.The most popular sodas in the United States, including Coke and Pepsi, are considered gluten-free. AriZona bottled iced teas also are considered gluten-free, and the vast majority of energy drinks are considered gluten-free.Juice made from 100% fruit should be gluten-free, but fruit drinks made from fruit plus other ingredients may not be. Be particularly wary of green smoothies, since they can contain wheat and barley grass.You'll need to buy gluten-free beer, since conventional beer contains gluten—safe brands will be prominently labeled "gluten-free."Wine is considered gluten-free, although you should be wary of flavored wines.All distilled alcohol (vodka, whiskey, bourbon, etc.) is considered gluten-free even if it's made from gluten grains, but some people report reacting to gluten grain-derived alcoholic beverages. If you're one of them, stick with alcohol not derived from gluten grains, such as rum or tequila, or with gluten-free vodka (made from potatoes, grapes or corn). A Word From Verywell Following the gluten-free diet may seem like a daunting task, especially if you've suddenly been diagnosed with celiac disease or non-celiac gluten sensitivity and need to make the change in a hurry. There's no question that the diet has a steep learning curve. These days, many manufacturers prominently label gluten-free items, and your favorite grocery store may call out safe products through special tags on the shelves. Those labels, plus this list, should make your transition easier. If you find you're struggling with figuring out what foods you can eat, ask your doctor about a referral to a dietitian who specializes in the gluten-free diet. 17 Sources Verywell Fit uses only high-quality sources, including peer-reviewed studies, to support the facts within our articles. Read our editorial process to learn more about how we fact-check and keep our content accurate, reliable, and trustworthy. Beyond Celiac. Cross-contact. National Celiac Association. Are canned vegetables, fruits & juices gluten-free? Cleveland Clinic. How to spot those sneaky sources of gluten. Dairy Management, Inc. Does milk have gluten? Food52. What is malted milk powder? The Chobani Nutrition Center. Gluten-free nutritiously with Chobani yogurt. Beyond Celiac. Is butter gluten-free? Gluten Free Dietitian. Barley enzymes in gluten-free products. Gluten Free Club. Bleu cheese - Gluten free or not? And more importantly, what to look for. Beyond Celiac. Is cheese gluten-free? Gluten-Free Living. Is ice cream gluten-free? Boukid F, Prandi B, Buhler S, Sforza S. Effectiveness of germination on protein hydrolysis as a way to reduce adverse reactions to wheat. J Agric Food Chem. 2017;65(45):9854-9860. doi:10.1021/acs/jafc/7b03175 National Celiac Association. Is vinegar gluten free? Gluten Free Dietitian. Flavoring & extracts: Are they gluten free? National Celiac Association. Is tea gluten-free? Beyond Celiac. Is wine gluten-free? Beyond Celiac. Is liquor gluten-free? Additional Reading Celiac Disease Foundation. Gluten-free foods. By Jane Anderson Jane Anderson is a medical journalist and an expert in celiac disease, gluten sensitivity, and the gluten-free diet. See Our Editorial Process Meet Our Review Board Share Feedback Was this page helpful? Thanks for your feedback! What is your feedback? Other Helpful Report an Error Submit Advertiser Disclosure × The offers that appear in this table are from companies that partner with and compensate Verywell Fit for displaying their offer. These partnerships do not impact our editorial choices or otherwise influence our editorial content.