Gluten-Free Energy Drinks

energy drink
Bravo 1954 / Getty Images

Energy drinks range from flavored zero-calorie water with added vitamins and nutrients to bottled concoctions with tons of sugar and more caffeine than a triple espresso. Many of these beverages are considered gluten-free and safe for those with celiac disease and non-celiac gluten sensitivity, but you still need to be careful. Generally, those with more ingredients (and more processing) tend to be riskier, and may not suit you if you're particularly sensitive to trace gluten.

Gluten-Free Energy Drinks

Here's the list of popular energy beverages on the market in the United States, along with what each company says about its product's gluten status.

Mountain Dew AMP Energy

Mountain Dew AMP comes in several varieties: Original, Cherry Blast, Strawberry Limeade, and Tropical Punch. Mountain Dew also makes Game Fuel Charged AMP varieties including Berry Blast, Cherry Burst, and Original Dew. Each beverage contains caffeine plus blends of vitamins and other energy-boosting nutrients. AMP Game Fuel varieties contain less caffeine and fewer calories.

According to the company, they don’t make gluten-free label claims, but none of the ingredients in the products are "derived from grains or flours that have been linked to malabsorption syndrome associated with gluten sensitivity."


These little shots of energy in a bottle contain a blend of B vitamins, amino acids, and nutrients, plus about as much caffeine as there is in a cup of premium coffee. The company also makes eleven Extra Strength 5-hour ENERGY products (with more caffeine) and three 5-Hour Daily Immune Support shots.

Each of the six regular strength flavors is gluten-free to 20ppm.

Sobe Elixir Citrus Energy

Not all Sobe Elixer drinks claim to boost your energy. But this high-calorie beverage made by PepsiCo contains caffeine along with guarana, ginseng, and taurine. As with other Pepsi products, the company says that they do not make gluten-free product claims but none of the ingredients in their products "are derived from grains or flours that have been linked to malabsorption syndrome associated with gluten sensitivity."

Monster Energy Drinks

Monster puts out a wide variety of energy drinks in cans with scary names like Khaotic and Mean Bean. The products contain different amounts of caffeine, but many range from about 140 milligrams per can to 160 milligrams per can. The company also distributes coffee-based drinks. All are considered gluten-free to 20ppm, according to Monster.

NOS Energy Drink

This Coca-Cola product advertises additives that provide "enhanced mental focus and high-performance energy." Five flavors are available, including Original, Original Sugar Free, GT Grape, Nitro Mango, and Sonic Sour. The products are considered to be gluten-free to 20 parts per million.

Red Bull

When most people think of an energy drink, they think of Red Bull. The brand has become synonymous with energy drink products. The products, which come in tall cans and can be found at the checkouts of many convenience stores, include caffeine, B vitamins, and amino acids. The company also makes Red Bull Editions and ORGANICS by Red Bull.

According to the company Red Bull Energy Drink and Red Bull ORGANICS are gluten free, vegan, wheat free, lactose free, and dairy free. All three basic formulations of Red Bull—Original, Sugar-Free, and Total Zero—are gluten-free to 20ppm, according to the manufacturer.

Vitamin Water

With both regular and sugar-free flavors, Vitamin Water provides a literal rainbow of vitamin-enhanced energy drinks. Made by Coca-Cola, flavors range from vital-t lemon iced tea to revive fruit punch. Many include added B vitamins such as vitamin B3, B5, and B12. All flavors are considered gluten-free, according to the company.

Gluten-Free Sports Beverages

If you are training for an athletic event, you might also consider a sports beverage to boost your energy or recover after a workout. Many of these products are gluten-free. For example, Nuun products are both gluten-free and vegan certified.

Other popular sports beverages that are gluten-free include:

  • BodyArmor
  • Powerade
  • Pure coconut water (many different brands)

Accelerade is made with gluten-free ingredients but according to the company it is manufactured in a facility that produces wheat. The facilities are GMP certified and they flush all of their lines between productions, but if you are highly sensitive, it could be an issue.

Gatorade, G2, and other Gatorade products don't contain any gluten ingredients but aren't labeled gluten-free. According to the company, they have not been tested to be gluten-free and there is a possibility the ingredients were exposed to or stored next to gluten-containing foods during processing.

Most of these energy and sports beverages can be found easily on grocery store shelves and in convenience stores. Therefore, if you're looking for a mid-day pick-me-up (or even something that can combat gluten-induced brain fog), you should be able to find a reasonable selection.

Verywell reached out to all companies for comment, and in the event that they could not be reached for comment, we've provided the best information available.

10 Sources
Verywell Fit uses only high-quality sources, including peer-reviewed studies, to support the facts within our articles. Read our editorial process to learn more about how we fact-check and keep our content accurate, reliable, and trustworthy.
  1. Willson C. The clinical toxicology of caffeine: A review and case study. Toxicol Rep. 2018;5:1140-1152. doi:10.1016/j.toxrep.2018.11.002

  2. Mtn Dew Amp. FAQs.

  3. Moustakas D, Mezzio M, Rodriguez BR, Constable MA, Mulligan ME, Voura EB. Guarana provides additional stimulation over caffeine alone in the planarian model. PLoS ONE. 2015;10(4):e0123310. doi:10.1371/journal.pone.0123310

  4. SoBe. Is SoBe gluten free?

  5. Alsunni AA. Energy drink consumption: Beneficial and adverse health effects. Int J Health Sci (Qassim). 2015;9(4):468-74.

  6. Red Bull. Questions and answers.

  7. Nuun. Is Nuun gluten free?

  8. BodyArmor. Frequently asked questions.

  9. PacificHealth. Product questions.

  10. Gatorade. Is Gatorade gluten free?

By Jane Anderson
Jane Anderson is a medical journalist and an expert in celiac disease, gluten sensitivity, and the gluten-free diet.