Special Diets Gluten-Free Cooking/Dining Out Print Gluten-Free Candy Canes By Jane Anderson Updated July 02, 2019 More in Special Diets Gluten-Free Cooking/Dining Out Grains Other Foods Beverages Products Low-Carb Christmas just wouldn't be the same without candy canes—those red-and-white mint treats look festive on the tree and taste great, too. But if you're following the gluten-free diet, you can't take anything for granted... and that includes candy canes. Fortunately, several different types of candy cane—both traditional and non-traditional—are gluten-free, and therefore safe for those of us with celiac disease and non-celiac gluten sensitivity to eat. There's one candy manufacturer that produces traditional candy canes, several that make them in different flavors (and rainbow colors), and one that makes a huge plastic candy cane filled with festively-wrapped chocolates. The following is a rundown on which brands are considered gluten-free by the U.S. Food and Drug Administration standard of fewer than 20 parts per million of gluten. Unfortunately, there are no certified gluten-free candy cane products available (which would mean they would be tested to contain less than 10 parts per million of gluten, a more stringent standard). However, some of these are processed in dedicated gluten-free facilities. Also, if you want more information on which candy, in general, is safe on the gluten-free diet, check out the master gluten-free candy list. Happy holidays! 1 Bobs Candy Canes © Farley's & Sathers For traditional, red-and-white-striped, peppermint-flavored Christmas candy canes, it's hard to beat Bobs, part of Farley's & Sather's candy company. Bobs makes several different options, ranging from 12-packs of full-sized candy canes to huge tubs of mini candy canes. In fact, the company's red, white and green candies are billed as "the original candy cane." All Bobs candy canes are considered gluten-free to 20 parts per million, without a possibility of cross-contamination from other gluten-containing products, according to a company spokesperson. Most are made in the same facility, and that facility does not process gluten-containing products, the spokesperson said. 2 Jelly Belly Candy Canes © Jelly Belly Jelly Belly, best-known for its gourmet (and reliably gluten-free) jelly beans, offers gluten-free candy canes in six different flavors: Very Cherry, Green Apple, Orange, Tutti Frutti, Blueberry, and Watermelon. Although they're definitely not your traditional mint candy cane, these candies from Jelly Belly make a nice addition to your holiday candy assortment. Of course, if you're looking for the taste of candy canes but don't care about the shape of the actual candy, you might want to consider a package of Jelly Belly jelly beans in candy cane flavor—they're available all year, not just during the holidays. Jelly Belly candies are considered gluten-free to less than 20 parts per million, and also are vegetarian-friendly and Kosher. Gluten-Free Jelly Beans and Other Easter Candy 3 Starburst Candy Canes © Wrigley Starburst fruit chews are an established favorite. The products are made by Wrigley and they also make gluten-free candies. Starburst candy canes, which come in a box of 12 (six strawberry and six green apples), also are gluten-free to levels of less than 20 parts per million. According to a spokesperson for Wrigley, Starburst and Starburst candy canes sold in the U.S. are free of any gluten sources, and are not produced on equipment that also processes gluten-containing items. 4 Lifesavers Candy Canes © Wrigley Lifesavers also is a Wrigley product, and at holiday time the company makes colorful candy cane versions in cherry, watermelon, orange, pineapple and raspberry flavors. Like Wrigley's Starburst candy canes, these Lifesavers candy canes are free of all gluten ingredients (considered gluten-free to levels of less than 20 parts per million) and are not manufactured on shared equipment. 5 Hershey's Kisses Candy Cane © Hershey's If you don't really want true candy canes, but want something festive for the holidays, maybe you want to consider a giant candy cane packed with Hershey's Kisses. Plain chocolate kisses are on Hershey's gluten-free list, and a spokesperson for the company confirmed that the holiday-wrapped kisses in green and red foil are gluten-free, as well. Hershey's Kisses filled with caramel also made the gluten-free list. Make sure you avoid the candy-cane-flavored Hershey's Kisses (in silver foil decorated with red candy canes) since they are not considered gluten-free by the company. Was this page helpful? Thanks for your feedback! Following a gluten-free diet can be challenging. We're here to help. Sign up and receive our free recipe guide for delicious gluten-free meals! Email Address Sign Up There was an error. Please try again. Thank you, , for signing up. What are your concerns? Other Inaccurate Hard to Understand Submit Article Sources Celiac Disease Foundation. What Should I Eat? Fact Sheet.