Gluten-Free Baked Beans: 4 Brands You Can Trust

Gluten-free baked beans nutrition facts

Verywell / Alexandra Shytsman

Table of Contents
View All
Table of Contents

Not all canned baked beans are safe on a gluten-free diet. Some baked beans do contain gluten—a protein found in wheat, barley, and rye. The beans themselves should be gluten-free (assuming no gluten cross-contamination in processing). However, some baked bean recipes may include gluten-containing ingredients, such as Worcestershire sauce and liquid smoke flavoring.

Therefore, when you're shopping for gluten-free baked beans, stick with these four brands:

  • Amy's Kitchen (all varieties are gluten-free)
  • B&M (all varieties are gluten-free)
  • Bush's Best (all varieties are gluten-free)
  • Heinz (some varieties are gluten-free; see below for which ones to buy)

Amy's Kitchen Vegetarian/Vegan Baked Beans

Amy's Kitchen baked beans

Amy's Kitchen

Amy's Kitchen offers organic vegetarian/vegan baked beans that also appear on Amy's extensive gluten-free list. The traditional baked beans recipe starts with organic white beans and mixes in tomato puree, mustard seed, apple cider vinegar, and maple syrup. 

The company meets legal gluten-free standards of less than 20 parts per million of gluten in its products. The baked beans also are dairy-free, lactose-free, soy-free, tree nut-free, and kosher. Note that the recipe does include grain-based vinegar, so if you're sensitive to that (some people react to vinegar derived from gluten grains), you might want to steer clear.

B&M Baked Beans

B&M Baked Beans

 © B&M Best

B&M makes seven different types of baked beans: Original, Boston's Best, Vegetarian, Country Style, Maple, Bacon & Onion, and Home Style. All are made from navy beans. All seven flavors are considered gluten-free to the legal standard of less than 20 parts per million, according to the company, a division of B&G Foods, Inc.

Bush's Best Baked Beans

Bush's Best baked beans

 © Bush's Best

Bush's baked beans are available in most mainstream grocery stores nationwide, and offer an easy choice for people who eat gluten-free, since all varieties are gluten-free. You can choose from Original, Vegetarian, Organic, Barbecue, Brown Sugar, Brown Sugar Hickory, Country Style, Homestyle, Maple & Cured Bacon, Honey Sweet, Onion, Sweet & Tangy, Sweet Heat, and Boston Recipe.

According to Bush's frequently asked questions: "All Bush's canned bean products are gluten-free. We do use cornstarch in some of our products, but it does not contain gliadin gluten from wheat, barley, oats or rye grains, which may cause adverse responses in people suffering from celiac sprue. In addition, the vinegar used in our canned bean products is corn-based and distilled."

Heinz Baked Beans

Heinz Original baked beans

 © Heinz

Heinz, makers of the most popular gluten-free ketchup brand, also markets baked beans in numerous different varieties, including Original, Bourbon & Molasses, Bacon & Brown Sugar, Bold & Spicy, Hickory Smoke, Molasses & Pork, and Sweet & Spicy.

However, only three of these varieties are considered gluten-free by the company: Original, Hickory Smoke, and Molasses & Pork. None of these three flavors are vegetarian.

Note that all three gluten-free Heinz baked bean flavors contain distilled vinegar, but Heinz uses vinegar that's derived from corn. Also note that the Hickory Smoke baked beans contain smoke flavoring, but that ingredient does not include barley (most smoke flavoring does include barley as an ingredient).

Baked Bean Brands That Aren't Gluten-Free

None of these products are recommended on a gluten-free diet:


Campbell's, best known for its soups, also makes one variety of baked beans: Campbell's Pork & Beans. However, the product does not appear on Campbell's gluten-free list.

Grandma Brown's

This brand, made in New York, is a regional favorite. Unfortunately, the company is notoriously close-lipped about the recipe and ingredients, so you're better off choosing another brand.

Pacific Foods

Pacific Foods, which makes a variety of gluten-free soups, also makes two different types of baked beans: Traditional Baked Beans with Pork and Organic Vegetarian Baked Beans. However, neither of these is considered gluten-free by the company.

Trader Joe's

The grocery chain offers store-brand baked beans, but they don't appear on Trader Joe's gluten-free list.

Van Camp's

Billed as "America's Original Beans," Van Camp's baked beans are available in Original, Hickory, and Bacon flavors. Van Camp's is owned by Conagra Brands, Inc., which does label some foods gluten-free. Unfortunately, none of Van Camp's bean-based products appear on Conagra's gluten-free list.

A Word From Verywell

Beans are a great source of fiber, which is a bonus because fiber frequently is lacking in the gluten-free diet. Plus, baked beans are the perfect addition to a summer barbecue or a casual winter meal. 

Fortunately, it's easy to find gluten-free baked beans at most supermarkets—most of the safe brands are widely distributed. But if you'd prefer to make your own, recipes for baked beans are simple to follow and generally turn out well. Just make sure to use safe ingredients like gluten-free Worcestershire sauce and gluten-free barbecue sauce.

2 Sources
Verywell Fit uses only high-quality sources, including peer-reviewed studies, to support the facts within our articles. Read our editorial process to learn more about how we fact-check and keep our content accurate, reliable, and trustworthy.
  1. Celiac Disease Foundation. Gluten-free foods. 2021.

  2. Vici G, Belli L, Biondi M, Polzonetti V. Gluten free diet and nutrient deficiencies: a review. Clin Nutr. 2016;35(6):1236-1241. doi:10.1016/j.clnu.2016.05.002

By Jane Anderson
Jane Anderson is a medical journalist and an expert in celiac disease, gluten sensitivity, and the gluten-free diet.