Great Gluten-Free Bagel Makers

Options From Plain to Multi-Grain

If you ask someone with celiac disease or non-celiac gluten sensitivity what bread product they miss most, many people will answer "bagels." That's because traditional bagels — the gluten-filled variety — rely heavily on the gluten in the flour for their taste and texture.

It's tough to make a gluten-free bagel that tastes close to the original. But four well-known gluten-free bakeries are trying, and generally succeeding in making decent bagels. Slather them with cream cheese, or better yet, add some gluten-free lox, and you may not be able to tell the difference.

Here's what's available in gluten-free bagels:


Canyon Bakehouse

Canyon Bakehouse gluten-free bagels
Canyon Bakehouse

Canyon Bakehouse offers five varieties of gluten-free bagels: plain, blueberry, cinnamon-raisin, "Stay Fresh" deli white bagels, and "everything," which contain garlic, onion, poppy seeds and sunflower seeds. They're made from a blend of tapioca flour, brown rice flour, and potato starch, and contain eggs.

These bagels from Canyon Bakehouse are certified gluten-free by the Gluten-Free Certification Organization (GFCO), which requires testing to less than 20 parts per million (ppm) of gluten. They're also certified Kosher.



Glutino gluten-free New York-style bagels

Glutino offers two different kinds of bagels: plain and sesame. All contain soy, milk, and eggs and are sold five bagels to a pack.

Glutino tests its products to make sure they contain fewer than 20 parts per million of gluten.

These bagels are available in the gluten-free frozen food section of many of the larger and health-oriented grocery stores. In addition, it's possible to order them online and have them shipped in.


Kinnikinnick Foods

Gluten-free bagels
Kinnikinnick Foods

Kinnikinnick Foods makes three different bagels: plain, cinnamon raisin, and blueberry. All are billed as "soft" bagels, and include sugar, corn, yeast, and eggs, but are free of dairy, soy, nuts and potato ingredients. The bagels are based on a mixture of white rice flour and tapioca starch.

Kinnikinnick Foods tests its products to contain fewer than 5 parts per million of gluten as part of its GF certification from the Celiac Sprue Association. Kinnikinnick advises keeping the bagels frozen until use, and then toasting or microwaving them for the best texture and flavor.


Trader Joe's

Trader Joe's gluten-free bagels
Trader Joe's

Quirky retailer Trader Joe's sells one variety of store-brand gluten-free bagels: plain. You'll find them in the bakery section. They're made from a mix of brown rice and sorghum flours, plus tapioca starch and they contain eggs.

The Trader Joe's bagels are dairy-, soy- and nut-free.


Udi's Gluten-Free Foods

Udi's whole grain bagel
Udi's Gluten-Free Foods

Udi's makes four different flavors of gluten-free bagels: plain (the closest to a traditional bagel you'll find), cinnamon raisin, whole grain, and Everything Inside (with millet seed, flax seed, poppy seed, onion and garlic). All include brown rice, tapioca, and potato starch along with yeast and eggs.

The bagels are certified gluten-free by the Gluten-Free Certification Organization, which requires testing to 20 parts per million of gluten. They're also dairy-free and soy-free and are certified kosher.



O'Doughs bagels

O'Doughs Bagels

O'Doughs makes several types of gluten-free bagels that are also certified Kosher, vegan, and non-GMO. Varieties include pumpernickel, everything, sesame, original, and sprouted.

Ingredients include potato starch, soya flour, tapioca starch, brown rice flour, chickpea flour, cellulose, sunflower oil, yeast, rice syrup, and potato fiber. They are vegan, so do not contain eggs but are processed in a facility that handles eggs.

2 Sources
Verywell Fit uses only high-quality sources, including peer-reviewed studies, to support the facts within our articles. Read our editorial process to learn more about how we fact-check and keep our content accurate, reliable, and trustworthy.
  1. Canyon Bakehouse. FAQ.

  2.  Kinnikinnick Foods Inc. Free from.

By Jane Anderson
Jane Anderson is a medical journalist and an expert in celiac disease, gluten sensitivity, and the gluten-free diet.