Gluten-Free Nut Milk and Other Alternative Milk

almond milk

Verywell / Alexandra Shytsman

What do you put on your gluten-free cereal if you also can't have dairy or soy milk? For many people with celiac disease or non-celiac gluten sensitivity, the answer is almond milk or some other type of nut milk. And fortunately, these nut milks are growing in popularity, so there's a generous handful now from which to choose.

Many of the following almond milk and nut milk products are considered to be gluten-free, which most health authorities define as below 20 parts per million (ppm), or GF-20. According to the Food and Drug Administration's regulation of the term gluten-free, any product that uses the term must contain fewer than 20 ppm of gluten.

However, even though 20ppm generally is considered the cutoff for a product to be considered legally "gluten-free," many people react to less trace gluten than that. Please note any potential gluten cross-contamination issues on each brand of milk below.

Almond Breeze

This almond milk, from manufacturer Blue Diamond, comes in both refrigerated cartons and shelf-stable boxes. Flavors include original, unsweetened, extra creamy, vanilla, unsweetened vanilla, reduced sugar vanilla, hint of honey vanilla, chocolate, and almondmilk nog. Blue Diamond also makes a blend of almond milk and coconut milk in unsweetened original flavor, and Almond Breeze blended with real bananas.

According to Blue Diamond, Almond Breeze products do not contain gluten ingredients. The milk does contain maltodextrin (a sometimes problematic ingredient), but in this case, the company says the maltodextrin is derived from corn, not wheat.

Almond Dream

Almond Dream, Coconut Dream, and Rice Dream are produced by SunOpta, Inc. Almond Dream comes in shelf-stable boxes and is available in unsweetened flavor. Coconut Dream comes in unsweetened and vanilla flavors.

According to the manufacturer, all Almond Dream and Coconut Dream beverages are gluten-free. The company's Oat Dream line is not labeled gluten-free. It's worth noting that Almond Dream is not manufactured using the same controversial barley-based enzymes as Rice Dream.

Pacific Foods

Pacific makes almond, cashew, and coconut milk that comes in shelf-stable boxes. The company's almond milk, which is organic, is available in original, unsweetened, vanilla, and unsweetened vanilla. Cashew milk comes in original flavor, and coconut milk options include original, unsweetened, and unsweetened vanilla. All these products, according to the company, are gluten-free to below 20ppm (GF-20).

However, you should be aware that Pacific processes oat and hemp milk, which are not gluten free, and it uses the same equipment for all products. The company states that machinery is cleaned via a five-step cleaning process between product production. However, keep this in mind if you can't tolerate shared facilities or equipment.

Silk

Silk, the company that revolutionized the soy milk industry, also makes almond milk, cashew milk, and coconut milk in refrigerated cartons and shelf-stable unrefrigerated boxes. Flavors include original, vanilla, dark chocolate, unsweetened, unsweetened vanilla, extra creamy, and unsweetened extra creamy. They also market less sugar vanilla almond milk and organic almond milk in original, unsweetened, and unsweetened vanilla.

There is also an unsweetened almond milk and coconut milk blend. Their Nextmilk line contains a blend of oak and coconut milk, is marketed as gluten-free, and comes in whole fat and reduced-fat varieties. Silk makes gluten-free oat milk in original, 0g sugar, vanilla, and extra creamy varieties and gluten-free coconut milk in original and unsweetened flavors. Finally, gluten-free cashew milk comes in unsweetened and unsweetened vanilla flavors.

Planet Oat

Planet Oat oat milks are gluten-free and free from tree nuts. Flavors include original, unsweetened original, extra creamy, vanilla, unsweetened vanilla, and dark chocolate. Each variety comes in refrigerated cartons of 52 ounce and original and extra creamy also come in 86 ounce refrigerated plastic jugs. There are also 32 ounce shelf-stable containers in original, extra creamy, and vanilla. Their products are all labeled as gluten-free.

Milkadamia

Macadamia nuts are the base for Milkadamia products. Both the lightly sweetened and unsweetened flavors of Milkadamia are gluten-free. There is also an unsweetened latte flavor that does not contain gluten according to GF-20 standards. While this flavor is meant to go in coffee drinks, it is separate from the company's line of creamers (which are also gluten-free). Milkadamia products come in shelf-stable packaging.

A Word From Verywell

Plant-based milk is a good alternative to dairy milk from an environmental, and sometimes health perspective. Ensuring the alternative milk you consume is gluten-free can be tricky, but with good information, you can decide if the risk of gluten contamination is worth taking given your own sensitivities. New brands, varieties, and flavors come out regularly, so if you're not sure whether a specific product is right for you, consult a dietician who can help you find brands and varieties that will work best for your own situation.

Was this page helpful?
9 Sources
Verywell Fit uses only high-quality sources, including peer-reviewed studies, to support the facts within our articles. Read our editorial process to learn more about how we fact-check and keep our content accurate, reliable, and trustworthy.
  1. Cohen I, Day A, Shaoul R. Gluten in celiac disease-more or less?. Rambam Maimonides Med J. 2019;10(1). doi:10.5041%2FRMMJ.10360

  2. U.S. Food and Drug Administration. Gluten and food labeling.

  3. Hollon JR, Cureton PA, Martin ML, Puppa EL, Fasano A. Trace gluten contamination may play a role in mucosal and clinical recovery in a subgroup of diet-adherent non-responsive celiac disease patientsBMC Gastroenterol. 2013;13:40. doi:10.1186/1471-230X-13-40

  4. Blue Diamond Almonds. Frequently asked questions.

  5. Dream. Ingredient information.

  6. Pacific Foods. Plant-based beverages.

  7. Silk. Allergens and dietary restrictions.

  8. Planet Oat. Products

  9. Jindilli Beverages, Milkadamia. Products.