Gluten-Free Gift Candy Boxes for the Holiday Season

Mom and son picking out candy

Getty Images / d3sign

It's not difficult to find gluten-free candy—many manufacturers offer candy options that will suit you if you're following a gluten-free diet. But sometimes the choices narrow considerably when it comes to gift candy boxes. Because these boxes generally include mixed varieties of smaller candies, many contain a gluten-containing candy or two.

Even if you can pick out the individual gluten-free pieces and leave the gluten ones behind, you'll be risking cross-contamination. Instead, here are some entirely gluten-free options for the loved ones in your life.

Gluten-Free Candy Boxes

The good news is, you do have some options, even if it takes a little extra effort to find them. Here's the latest information on gluten-free candy boxes, whether you need one for a gift or are simply buying for yourself.

Cella's Chocolate-Covered Cherries

Cella's Chocolate-Covered Cherries, which come in boxes of 12, are made by Tootsie Roll Industries, whose products are entirely gluten-free. You can choose milk chocolate or dark chocolate covered cherries. Cella's cherries are available in many stores or online.

L.A. Burdick Handmade Chocolates

These delicious, upscale boxed chocolates are available in a variety of delicious flavors, all gluten-free. The company has six storefronts—in New York City; Boston, MA; Cambridge, MA; Chicago, IL; Washington D.C.; and Walpole, NH. The chocolates are also available online. The chocolate mice and chocolate penguins are fan favorites.

Russell Stover Candies

Russell Stover Candies Inc. produces candy gift boxes under the brand names Russell Stover, Whitman's, Pangburn's, and Weight Watchers by Whitman's. Gift candy boxes start at about $5, and you can find them in many supermarkets and drug stores.

The company reports that "to the best of our knowledge," all products are gluten-free except for products containing cookies, such as s'mores and cookies and cream offerings. Ingredient labels will indicate clearly when wheat is present, the company says in its statement on gluten.

But take this green light with a grain of salt. Russell Stover also says, "Be aware that products containing wheat are produced on equipment that's also used to make other products. So we can't completely rule out the possibility of cross-contamination, despite efforts to prevent it. Because of that possibility, we do not declare any of our products to be gluten-free. Please check the ingredient listing and also check the May Contain information on our package,"

See's Candy

Everything that See's Candies makes is gluten-free (many are also dairy-free and nut-free). However, they do caution that they sell a small number of specialty candies purchased from other partner confectioners, which may be manufactured in shared facilities or in shared equipment. See's candy boxes start at around $10, and you can order them online or find them around the holidays at kiosks in your local shopping mall. Before buying, you should make sure to check the See's Candies website for current allergen information to make sure your selection is gluten-free.

Candy Boxes to Avoid if You're Gluten-Free

There are a couple of gift candy box manufacturers who state their chocolates and other candies never should be consumed by someone with celiac disease or non-celiac gluten sensitivity.

Ethel M's Chocolates

Ethel's Chocolates' website contains a statement that states "The products we currently have available for purchase with the exception of some fresh chocolate dipped items only offered in our Henderson, NV flagship store, do not contain any wheat. 'Gluten Free' labeling requires very rigorous 3rd party equipment and product testing, and is a certification we are currently investigating."

Fannie May

Fannie May offers a huge variety of gift candy boxes. But sadly, none of them are entirely gluten-free. The candy maker states "Currently, we do not have products that are certified gluten-free."


Sadly, none of Godiva's chocolates are considered gluten-free, according to the company. That includes the gift boxes and candies sold by the piece in Godiva shops.


Many of Lindt's chocolate products contain gluten in the form of barley malt as a sweetener, which rules out all of the company's delicious Lindor truffles. The candy maker does say that its "white and extra dark (70% cocoa and above) chocolate products are manufactured without cereal or barley malt. Lindt also says in its statement on gluten that "Lindt is aware of the growing prevalence of celiac disease and other conditions."

Other unsafe boxed candy includes the hazelnut chocolates made by Ferrero Rocher (they contain wheat flour) and the specialty Valentine's Day boxed sets from Mrs. Fields (they also contain wheat flour).

4 Sources
Verywell Fit uses only high-quality sources, including peer-reviewed studies, to support the facts within our articles. Read our editorial process to learn more about how we fact-check and keep our content accurate, reliable, and trustworthy.
  1. Tootsie Roll Industries. FAQ's.

  2. Russell Stover. Frequently asked questions.

  3. See's Candies. Allergen information.

  4. Fannie May. Frequently asked questions.

By Jane Anderson
Jane Anderson is a medical journalist and an expert in celiac disease, gluten sensitivity, and the gluten-free diet.