Diets Gluten-Free 8 Gluten-Free Grains to Try By Victoria Groce Victoria Groce LinkedIn Victoria Groce is a medical writer living with celiac disease who specializes in writing about the dietary management of food allergies. Learn about our editorial process Updated on August 06, 2020 Fact checked Verywell Fit content is rigorously reviewed by a team of qualified and experienced fact checkers. Fact checkers review articles for factual accuracy, relevance, and timeliness. We rely on the most current and reputable sources, which are cited in the text and listed at the bottom of each article. Content is fact checked after it has been edited and before publication. Learn more. by Andrea Rice Fact checked by Andrea Rice Facebook LinkedIn Twitter Andrea Rice is an award-winning journalist and a freelance writer, editor, and fact-checker specializing in health and wellness. Learn about our editorial process Print Look at any prepackaged wheat-free or gluten-free specialty food, and it's almost a guarantee you'll find rice, corn, or potatoes among the ingredients. These starches are some of the major dietary staples for patients with wheat allergies, celiac disease, or non-celiac gluten sensitivity. Less common are ancient grains, which can add variety to your diet—and many are nutritional powerhouses. Here's a quick primer on six ancient grains. 1 Amaranth Verywell / Alexandra Shytsman Found on nearly every continent, the genus Amaranthus contains nearly 70 species of perennial plants, most of which are considered weeds. A close relative of Amaranth is pigweed (Amaranthus retroflexus). Amaranth has an earthy, nutty flavor and is often sold as flour and as a whole grain. It is nutritious because it's high in protein and packed with fiber and other nutrients, making it an especially useful choice for vegetarians with food allergies. 2 Buckwheat Verywell / Alexandra Shytsman In the U.S., many people consume buckwheat in the form of pancakes or tabbouleh. Buckwheat is actually a relative of rhubarb and a staple of Eastern European cooking because of its versatility. Contrary to its name, buckwheat is not wheat. This ancient grain has a hearty, nutty flavor that works especially well with wintertime root vegetables and roasted meat dishes. Whole-grain buckwheat groats are sold either raw or toasted as kasha. Whole-grain buckwheat soba noodles are also available, but read labels carefully, as many soba noodles contain a mixture of buckwheat and wheat. 3 Millet Maximilian Stock Ltd./Photolibrary/Getty Images Is millet gluten-free? The answer is, yes. Millet, particularly pearl millet, has long been a staple food in sub-Saharan Africa. You can use millet flour almost interchangeably with rice flour and it makes a good substitute for couscous in its whole state. Technically a seed, millet has a mild, somewhat nutty taste, and has the best flavor when toasted in a dry skillet before cooking. Try hot millet breakfast cereal. 4 Quinoa Verywell / Alexandra Shytsman Quinoa is touted as a superfood, and for good reason. This gluten-free wheat alternative is one of the most protein-rich grains and packed with vitamins and minerals. Quinoa pasta is increasingly popular; you can also find whole-grain quinoa, quinoa flour, and quinoa pasta. Rinse whole-grain quinoa several times before you cook it to remove a bitter coating called saponin that can taste unappealing and also irritate digestion. 5 Teff Verywell / Alexandra Shytsman In Ethiopian cuisine, teff flour is the main ingredient in a traditional, soft, fermented sourdough flatbread called injera. You may be able to find teff seeds and teff flour at health food stores, grocery co-ops, and larger grocery store chains like Whole Foods as well as Amazon and other online retail sites. Teff is slowly becoming more widely available in the U.S., due in part to more diagnoses of celiac disease and non-celiac gluten sensitivity, as well as the growing demand for healthy ancient grains. 6 Wild Rice Verywell / Alexandra Shytsman Wild rice may look similar to rice, but it's actually unrelated since wild rice is a species of grass. And it's a nice burst of flavor and texture compared to standard white or brown rice. Wild rice takes longer to cook, so you can't use it in place of other types of white or brown rice in recipes without changing the cooking time and amount of liquid. Wild rice flour, which lends an unusual color and pleasant nuttiness to baked goods, is also on the market. 7 Sorghum Sorghum originated in Africa and is now cultivated in many tropical and sub-tropical countries worldwide. In the U.S., it's primarily used for animal feed, although its space in the gluten-free food market is growing. Sorghum, which tastes like a very mild, sweet corn, works well as an ingredient in gluten-free baking mixes or cooked with water as a hot cereal. Combined with eggs and a little water, it makes decent (and quick) gluten-free pancakes. It's also frequently used to brew gluten-free beer, and you can use it to make a delicious gluten-free roux (as in this recipe for gluten-free roast chicken and shrimp gumbo). Sorghum is high in iron and fiber—half a cup of whole-grain sorghum flour provides about 25% of your daily iron requirement, plus 6 grams of fiber. 8 Tapioca Many of us know tapioca from creamy tapioca pudding. But when used in a gluten-free diet, tapioca—a starch that's extracted from the root of the cassava plant—has many more uses than just dessert. Combined with sorghum and rice flour, tapioca flour can serve to provide a smoother, less gritty texture for gluten-free baked goods, which is why you see it as an ingredient in so many mixes. You also can use it to make gluten-free crêpes. Half a cup of tapioca (in pearl form) is fat-free and nearly protein-free—it's basically pure carbohydrate and contains little fiber (which is probably why it provides such good texture in baked goods). Gluten-Free Food List: Learn Exactly What to Eat Gluten-Free 3 Sources Verywell Fit uses only high-quality sources, including peer-reviewed studies, to support the facts within our articles. Read our editorial process to learn more about how we fact-check and keep our content accurate, reliable, and trustworthy. Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations. Quinoa. 2013. Oldways Whole Grains Council. Whole Grain Statistics. U.S. Department of Agriculture. FoodData Central: Tapioca, pearl, dry. By Victoria Groce Victoria Groce is a medical writer living with celiac disease who specializes in writing about the dietary management of food allergies. See Our Editorial Process Meet Our Review Board Share Feedback Was this page helpful? Thanks for your feedback! What is your feedback? Other Helpful Report an Error Submit Advertiser Disclosure × The offers that appear in this table are from companies that partner with and compensate Verywell Fit for displaying their offer. These partnerships do not impact our editorial choices or otherwise influence our editorial content.