Are Marshmallows Gluten-Free?

Marshmallows are almost all safe on the gluten-free diet

marshmallows in a bowl

Verywell / Alexandra Shytsman

Table of Contents
View All
Table of Contents

Almost all marshmallows are gluten-free, so even if you pick up a bag of marshmallows randomly in the grocery store, it's very likely to be safe. That's because the vast majority of marshmallows on store shelves come from gluten-free brands.

In the U.S., the marshmallow industry is dominated by two main companies: Kraft Foods Inc. and Doumak Inc. Both manufactures only gluten-free marshmallows.

Gluten-Free Marshmallows

Your options for gluten-free marshmallows include the following products:


Kraft makes Jet Puffed marshmallows in sizes ranging from mini (perfect for adding to your gluten-free hot chocolate) through jumbo (ideal for roasting over a campfire). Kraft marshmallows are widely available in stores—we use them at my house, and reach for them in stores when friends are having an impromptu cookout.

Kraft will disclose all gluten-containing ingredients on its labels, and while it doesn't label its marshmallows specifically "gluten-free" or test them for trace gluten, a company representative reports that they're not subject to gluten cross-contamination in production.


Doumak, meanwhile, makes only marshmallows, and all of its products are gluten-free. The company bills itself as "The American Marshmallow Company," and there's plenty of truth to that claim. Campfire brand marshmallows are made by Doumak, and the company also makes marshmallows for private store brands, including Walmart's store brand and CVS Brand, according to a customer service representative.

When you're browsing the grocery store for marshmallows (sadly, they're usually found in the baking section, occasionally right next to the flour), you may see several different brands of marshmallows, including Kraft, Campfire, Jet, and store brands. But the odds are, everything there is made by either Kraft or Doumak... and is safely gluten-free.

Marshmallow Peeps

When it comes to marshmallows, many people also think of Marshmallow Peeps, once sold only around Easter but now produced in multiple shapes, colors, and themes for many different holidays.

Peeps are made by Just Born, which labels them "gluten-free" unless they're made in a factory that also processes gluten-containing foods (see Just Born's gluten statement). Therefore, you should rely on Peeps' packaging—if it says "gluten-free," it's safe to eat. Note that the food starch used in Peeps is derived from corn.

In recent years, Just Born has introduced a variety of new Peeps flavors and shapes, including Peeps on a stick. Some of these, unfortunately, are not gluten-free.

The bottom line: Always look for a prominent "gluten-free" designation on Peeps boxes, which you will find printed in bold near the products' ingredients lists.

Ways to Eat Them

Marshmallows are a very versatile treat, and it's even sweeter that they're almost all gluten-free. Below are some great ways to enjoy them.

Crispy Rice Treats

Gluten-free crispy rice treats are easy to make and a perennial kids' favorite. Starbucks even offers a gluten-free rice treat as one of the company's few nods to the gluten-free community.


If you're planning a classic campfire complete with s'mores, look for gluten-free graham crackers and safe chocolate bars.


Finally, no matter how much you like chocolate, it's tough to beat plain toasted marshmallows on a stick, over a campfire. Just make sure you follow the rules for a safe gluten-free cookout, including the use of safe charcoal.


When it comes to processed foods, those with celiac disease or non-celiac gluten sensitivity always need to watch out for gluten cross-contamination. Foods made on the same lines as gluten-containing foods or in the same facilities as those foods (depending on what precautions are taken) can cause reactions in people, especially those who are particularly sensitive.

But when it comes to marshmallows, the gluten-free community is pretty lucky: most brands of marshmallows are safe on the gluten-free diet, even for those who tend to react to lower levels of gluten.

A Word from Verywell

If you're craving roasted marshmallows or s'mores for your summer barbecue or campfire, or yams sprinkled with miniature marshmallows for your Thanksgiving dinner, you generally can rest assured that the marshmallows you choose from Kraft or Doumak are safely gluten-free. And if you want Peeps, you just need to stick with the Peeps flavors that are prominently marked "gluten-free" on their packaging.

1 Source
Verywell Fit uses only high-quality sources, including peer-reviewed studies, to support the facts within our articles. Read our editorial process to learn more about how we fact-check and keep our content accurate, reliable, and trustworthy.
  1. Celiac Disease Foundation. Gluten-Free Candy List.

By Jane Anderson
Jane Anderson is a medical journalist and an expert in celiac disease, gluten sensitivity, and the gluten-free diet.