Are Hershey's Kisses Gluten-Free?

Hershey plain Kisses
© The Hershey Company

If you have a gluten allergy or intolerance, knowing whether or not your favorite treats are gluten-free is essential. Some Hershey's Kisses are safe for those on a gluten-free diet, while you should avoid others. Knowing which ones are safe can help prevent potential health issues.

According to Hershey's, plain milk chocolate Hershey's kisses are considered gluten-free to 20 parts per million, or ppm.

Hershey's Kisses That Are Gluten-Free

Hershey's kisses can be safe for a gluten-free diet if you choose the correct kinds. Some Hershey's kisses are not safe, so it's important to read the labels. The ones that are safe on a gluten-free diet include:

  • Traditional silver-wrapped Hershey's kisses
  • Hugs candy (all varieties)
  • Plain milk chocolate kisses, wrapped in colored foil, which are sold for holidays such as Valentine's Day, Halloween, and Christmas (including Conversation Foils, Fall Harvest Foils, Grinch Foils, Easter Egg Hunt Foils, Holiday Milk Chocolate, Monster Foils, Santa Hat Foils, Wedding "I Do" candies)
  • Plain milk chocolate Hershey's kisses sold in plastic candy canes at holiday time
  • Giant Hershey's kiss (7 ounce size only)
  • Kisses filled with caramel
  • Kisses filled with cherry cordial creme
  • Mint dark chocolate truffle-flavored Kisses
  • Special Dark "mildly sweet" Kisses (note that Hershey's Special Dark candy bars are NOT considered gluten-free)
  • Candy cane flavored mint candy
  • Treasure Suprises (My Little Pony and Transformers)
  • Mini kisses milk chocolate chips

Hershey's Kisses With Gluten

None of the other Hershey's kisses products are gluten-free, according to Hershey's gluten-free list. If it is not safe for you to consume gluten, you should avoid these Hershey's kisses:

  • Milk chocolate kisses with almonds
  • Cookies 'n creme kisses
  • Rose filled milk chocolate meltaways
  • Strawberry ice cream cone kisses
  • Birthday cake kisses
  • Hot cocoa candy kisses
  • Sugar cookie white creme candy kisses
  • Valentine's lava cake dark chocolate candy
  • Vampire foils milk chocolate filled with strawberry

Know Exactly What You're Eating

It's also easy to mix up Hershey's Special Dark Kisses (which are considered gluten-free) with Hershey's Special Dark candy bars (which are not considered gluten-free). Know for certain what you've got before you take a bite!

A Word from Verywell

If you like Hershey's kisses, make sure to read the product label each time you purchase a new bag of any variety. Ingredients can change from time to time, and the Hershey Company provides the most current and accurate information on each package.

1 Source
Verywell Fit uses only high-quality sources, including peer-reviewed studies, to support the facts within our articles. Read our editorial process to learn more about how we fact-check and keep our content accurate, reliable, and trustworthy.
  1. The Hershey Company. Gluten Free.

By Jane Anderson
Jane Anderson is a medical journalist and an expert in celiac disease, gluten sensitivity, and the gluten-free diet.