Are Hershey's Kisses Gluten-Free?

Hershey plain Kisses
© The Hershey Company

If you have a gluten allergy or intolerance, knowing whether or not your favorite treats are gluten-free is essential. Some Hershey's Kisses are safe for those on a gluten-free diet, while you should avoid others. Knowing which ones are safe can help prevent potential health issues.

According to Hershey's, plain milk chocolate Hershey's kisses are considered gluten-free to 20 parts per million, or ppm.

Safe Hershey's Kisses

Hershey's kisses that are safe on a gluten-free diet include:

  • Traditional silver-wrapped Hershey's kisses
  • Hugs candy (all varieties)
  • Plain milk chocolate kisses, wrapped in colored foil, which are sold for holidays such as Valentine's Day, Halloween, and Christmas
  • Plain milk chocolate Hershey's kisses sold in plastic candy canes at holiday time
  • Giant Hershey's kiss (7 ounce size only)

In addition, many of the flavored Hershey's chocolate kisses are considered to be gluten-free to the same 20 parts per million gluten level. These include:

  • Kisses filled with caramel
  • Kisses filled with cherry cordial creme
  • Mint dark chocolate truffle-flavored Kisses
  • Special Dark "mildly sweet" Kisses (note that Hershey's Special Dark candy bars are NOT considered gluten-free)

Hershey's Kisses With Gluten

None of the other Hershey's kisses products are gluten-free, according to Hershey's gluten-free list. If it is not safe for you to consume gluten, you should avoid these Hershey's kisses:

  • Milk chocolate kisses with almonds
  • AirDelight kisses
  • Candy cane-flavored kisses (again, the plain milk chocolate Hershey's kisses sold in plastic candy canes are considered gluten-free)
  • Holiday Kisses Mint Truffles wrapped in dark chocolate
  • Cookies 'N Creme Kisses
  • Cupcake Kisses
  • Dark Chocolate with Chocolate Truffle Kisses

Know Exactly What You're Eating

Note that it's easy to mix up filled Kisses (which are considered gluten-free) with AirDelight Kisses (which are not gluten-free). The products' wrappers are very similar.

It's also easy to mix up Hershey's Special Dark Kisses (which are considered gluten-free) with Hershey's Special Dark candy bars (which are not considered gluten-free). Know for certain what you've got before you take a bite!

A Word from Verywell

If you like Hershey's kisses, make sure to read the product label each time you purchase a new bag of any variety. Ingredients can change from time to time, and the Hershey Company provides the most current and accurate information on each package.

Was this page helpful?
2 Sources
Verywell Fit uses only high-quality sources, including peer-reviewed studies, to support the facts within our articles. Read our editorial process to learn more about how we fact-check and keep our content accurate, reliable, and trustworthy.
  1. The Hershey Company. Gluten Free.

  2. U.S. Food & Drug Administration. Gluten and Food Labeling. Updated July 16, 2018.