Which Brands of Corn Flakes Are Gluten-Free?

Cereal and Milk

Verywell / Alexandra Shytsman

Table of Contents
View All
Table of Contents

Anyone following a gluten-free diet, whether for celiac disease or other gluten sensitivities, probably knows corn is naturally gluten-free. So it stands to reason that corn flakes should be gluten-free, right?

Not so fast. Some, but not all, brands of cornflakes are safe for those following a gluten-free diet.

Are All Cornflake Cereals Gluten-Free?

During processing, some cereal manufacturers add other ingredients that contain gluten. One common addition is malt barely. Gluten is a protein in barley and other grains, including wheat, rye, and oats. People who follow a gluten-free diet for medical reasons and those who are gluten sensitive should avoid all forms of gluten.

For instance, Kellogg's Corn Flakes cereal, a perennial breakfast favorite, includes "malt flavoring" as its third ingredient. For those following a gluten-free diet who enjoy that cereal, malt flavoring contains gluten in the form of barley.

Gluten-Free Corn Flakes Options

Fortunately, there are options for people following a gluten-free diet who crave corn flakes. These are a few popular brands of gluten-free corn flakes:

Barbara's Bakery Organic Corn Flakes

Barbara's Bakery sweetens its corn flakes with organic cane sugar. They are certified organic by the U.S. Department of Agriculture and non-GMO project verified.

Although Barbara's Bakery Organic Corn Flakes do not contain any ingredients with gluten, and they advertise it as gluten-free, they are manufactured in a facility that also processes wheat products. So there is a possible risk of cross-contamination.

EnviroKidz Amazon Flakes 

Bite for bite, this is the closest you'll come to Kellogg's Corn Flakes. Manufactured by Nature's Path (which makes all EnviroKidz cereals and other products), these corn flakes are made with certified organic cornmeal plus pure cane sugar. They're certified gluten-free by the Gluten-Free Certification Organization (GFCO), which inspects manufacturing facilities.

A portion of every sale of EnviroKidz Amazon Flakes goes toward helping preserve the habitat of endangered blue macaws in Central and South America.

Erewhon Corn Flakes

This cereal isn't a direct replacement for your sweetened traditional corn flakes. Made by Attune Foods, it doesn't contain any added sweetener at all. The only two ingredients are organic milled corn and sea salt, added, according to the manufacturer, to "enhance the subtle sweetness of the corn." The cereal is certified gluten-free by the GFCO and is also certified non-GMO and organic.

Nature's Path Fruit Juice Corn Flakes

These cork flakes are organic and sweetened with fruit juice (grape and/or pear juices), not sugar. As a result, you may find this cereal is slightly less sweet and has a somewhat different texture than the corn flakes you're accustomed to eating. They're certified gluten-free by the GFCO and are also certified non-GMO and organic.

Nature's Path Honey'd Corn Flakes

If the brand's fruit juice-sweetened corn flakes don't appeal to you, you might prefer these, which use honey and cane sugar. Otherwise, they include the same ingredients as the fruit juice-sweetened corn flakes and offer the same certifications.

Real Cereal Corn Flakes

The Real Cereal Company manufactures corn flakes that are certified organic, non-GMO, and gluten free. The only ingredients are organic corn grits and sea salt. Like Erewhon, Real Cereal Corn Flakes do not contain any added sugar, so the flavor profile is slightly different than traditional corn flakes, which are sweetened.

Mainstream Brands

If you're looking for a gluten-free corn flakes option in a mainstream cereal brand that you can find in most grocery stores, the pickings are slim. General Mills' Corn Chex is one option that may fill your craving for sweet corn. Seven of the eight varieties of General Mills' Chex cereals—including corn, chocolate, cinnamon, honey nut, and rice Chex—are considered gluten-free.

Kellogg's sells a gluten-free version of its corn flakes in Australia but has not yet expanded to the U.S. market.

With many gluten-free cereal options on the market, you'll likely find a cereal you enjoy.

A Word From Verywell

It can be frustrating when a food product whose main ingredient is gluten-free contains other additives with gluten. But with these gluten-free corn flake alternatives, you can enjoy a bowl of that childhood staple (not to mention use it as a gluten-free alternative to bread crumbs or in sweet or savory recipes).

As with any food labeled gluten-free, remember to check the food label for warnings about potential cross-contamination with wheat-containing foods in manufacturing facilities.

1 Source
Verywell Fit uses only high-quality sources, including peer-reviewed studies, to support the facts within our articles. Read our editorial process to learn more about how we fact-check and keep our content accurate, reliable, and trustworthy.
  1. Taylor SL, Hefle SL. Ingredient and labeling issues associated with allergenic foods. Allergy. 2001;56 Suppl 67:64-9. doi:10.1034/j.1398-9995.2001.00920.x

Additional Reading

By Jane Anderson
Jane Anderson is a medical journalist and an expert in celiac disease, gluten sensitivity, and the gluten-free diet.